Coaches select all area wrestlers

Published 7:09 pm Thursday, March 17, 2005

By Staff
NILES - Each year, area coaches pick who they think had a standout year in wrestling. The top wrestlers they chose from each weight division are listed in three catagories, first team, second team and honorable mention.
This year 24 local wrestlers from Niles, Brandywine, Buchanan, Dowagiac and Cassopolis have been named to the All-Southwest Michigan Wrestling Teams list for their outstanding performances this year.
103 lbs.
First team: Brad Barker, Lakeshore
Second team: Jake Gluekert, Niles
Honorable mention: Jon Stein River Valley, Todd Taylor Buchanan, Andy Cagle Bangor, Adam Bastow South Haven.
112 lbs.
First team: Chris Hammermeister, Lakeshore
Second team: Chris Kovach, Gobles
Honorable mention: Tyler Dotson South Haven, Chris Smith Watervliet, Zach Gordon Berrien Springs, Bryce Flannery Niles.
119 lbs.
First team: Justin Agens, Lakeshore
Second team: Matt Poehlman, Niles
Honorable mention: Jon Burns Decatur, Efrain Solis Bangor, Nick Wheatley Buchanan, Pat Van Laere Brandywine.
125 lbs.
First team: Travis Reith, Buchanan
Second team: Mason Stephenson, Niles
Honorable mention: Brad Keeney South Haven, Vine Carango Lawton, Matt Johnson Decatur, Alex Bolt Lakeshore.
130 lbs.
First team: Zach Deubner, Cassopolis
Second team: Jason Krukowski, Dowagiac
Honorable mention: Ben Effting Hartford, Hector Solis Bangor, Brian Ammeson St. Joseph.
135 lbs.
First team: Justin Tucker, Cassopolis
Second team: Joe Stein, River Valley
Honorable mention: Drew Welke Lakeshore, Juan Alcauter South Haven, Rodney Leneway Niles, Kurt Walter St. Joseph.
140 lbs.
First team: John McCoy, Cassopolis
Second team: Mike Jackson, South Haven
Honorable mention: David Medlin Buchanan, Todd Scanson Niles, Kyle Dornan Bangor.
145 lbs.
First team: Jeromy Northrop, Dowagiac
Second team: Jeremy Ashley, Coloma
Honorable mention: Ryan Cinninger Niles, Peter Wyman Berrien Springs, Ruben Zuniga South Haven.
152 lbs.
First team: Darrick Parker, Bangor
Second team: Kameron Jackson, South Haven
Honorable mention: Lequar Caldwell Coloma, Brad LeValley Lakeshore, Kameron Morris Watervliet.
160 lbs.
First team: Drakkar Klose, South Haven
Second team: CJ Myers, Coloma
Honorable mention: Andy Gebhardt Lakeshore, Brandon Shull Bangor, Tim Morrisey River Valley, Blake Jackson Gobles.
171 lbs.
First team: Matt Wittman, Lakeshore
Second team: Kyle Bennett, Dowagiac
Honorable mention: Tyler Flora St. Joseph, Chris Hauch Watervliet, John Coniglio River Valley.
189 lbs.
First team: Josh Henry, Niles
Second team: Ben Isbrecht, Watervliet
Honorable mention: Ray Porter Bangor, Adam Simons Brandywine, Jim Conners Buchanan, Shawn Rawson Dowagiac.
215 lbs.
First team: Jesse Martin, Coloma
Second team: Jordan Rasmussen, Decatur
Honorable mention: Matt Behnke Dowagiac, Zak Kacmar River Valley, Marcello Nunez Covert, Mickey Muterspaugh Eau Claire.
275 lbs.
First team: Ryan Carrigan, Buchanan
Second team: Tony Stewart, Dowagiac
Honorable mention: Taylor Bardin Bangor, Mike Creeksmore River Valley, Logan Klug St. Joseph, Rodney Driver Benton Harbor.
Wrestler of the Year: Drakkar Klose, South Haven
Coach of the Year: Tim Simpson, South Haven.