Lakeshore grapplers top Niles again

Published 4:36 pm Friday, February 18, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
NILES - Using the emotion of remembering a fallen former Lancer grapper, the Lakeshore wrestling team rolled to a 40-12 victory over host Niles Thursday night in the Division 2 District Tournament championship match.
The father of former Lakeshore captain Nathan Broehm spoke to the team prior to the start of the tournament accoring to veteran coach Bruce Bittenbender.
The Lancers apparently that inspirational talk to defeat St. Joseph in the opening round, 49-25, and then take it to the Vikings in the title contest.
Niles, which reached the finals with a 63-18 victory over Benton Harbor in the first round, got off to a quick start agianst the Lancers, winning a pair of decisions at 125- and 130-pounds.
Mason Stephenson and Derek Purcell both earned decisions to give the Vikings a 6-0 lead.
But it was all Lakeshore from that point on.
The Lancers won three consecutive matches at 135-, 140- and 145-pounds to take a 12-6 lead following Eric Shirley's pin of freshmen Ben Brandstatter.
Robert Cinnger stopped the Lancer streak with a 6-3 decision over Brad LeValley at 145-pounds.
Lakeshore won the next two matches before Josh Henry defeated Adam Miller, 6-3, at 189-pounds.
That would be the final win of the night for the Vikings as Lakeshore rolled off five straight victories, one via the pin fall and another via a technical fall, to seal the victory.
Galvin earned his 399th career victory against Benton Harbor in the opening round match and would have loved to get that 400th against the Lancers.
Winning matches against Benton Harbor in the semifinals were Jake Glueckert, Bryce Flannery, Matt Poehlman, Stephenson, Purcell, Rodney Leneway, Todd Scansen, Brandstatter, Cinninger, Josh Henry and Micah Barrett.
The Vikings will now set their sites on the individual tournament which will be held on Saturday at Vicksburg High School.
Championship match
103: Brad Barker (L) d. Jake Glueckert, 2-1
112: Kyle Hammermeister (L) p. Bryce Falnnery, 0:51
119: Justin Agens (L) d. Matt Poehlman, 7-2
125: Mason Stephenson (N) d. Alex Bolt, 3-0
130: Derek Purcell (N) d. Josh Florian, 4-0
135: Drew Welke (L) d. Rodney Leneway, 11-7
140: Josh Jackson (L) d. Todd Scansen, 4-3
145: Eric Shirley (L) p. Ben Brandstatter, 1:01
152: Robert Cinninger (N) d. Brad LeValley, 6-3
160: Andy Gebhard (L) t.f. Dan Lawson, 15-0
171: Brian Middleton (L) d. Jake Groves, 8-6
189: Josh Henry (N) d. Adam Miller, 6-3
215: Matt Whittmann (L) t.f., Joel Ealy, 17-1
275: Greg Whorton (L) d. Chad Nichols, 4-3
Benton Harbor…18
103: Jake Glueckert (N) won by forfeit
112: Bryce Flannery (N) p. George Piggeer 2:49
119: Matt Poehlman (N) won by forfeit
125: Mason Stephenson (N) p. Larry Calahan 1:59
130: Derek Purcell (N) won by forfeit
135: Rodney Leneway (N) won by forfeit
140: Todd Scansen (N) won by forfeit
145: Ben Brandstatter (N) won by forfeit
152: Robert Cinninger (N) won by forfeit
160: Anthony Williams (BH) p. Mike Marsh 3:40
171: Aaron Jenkins (BH) won by forfeit
189: Josh Henry (N) p. James Friesen 1:40
215: Micah Barrett (N) d. Monteeze Johnson 7-5
275: Keno Edwards (BH) pinned Brian Asmusi 3:18