Stephenson claims conference championship

Published 4:05 pm Monday, February 14, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
ST. JOSEPH - Lakeshore captured its fourth consecutive Big 16 Conference championship on Saturday at St. Joseph High School.
The Lancers easily outdistanced runner-up Coldwater, 192.5-160.5.
Niles was a distant third with 155 points, while Dowagiac finished fourth with 137.5 points.
Rounding out the top five was Kalamazoo Central with 120 points.
Battle Creek Lakeview was sixth, Portage Central seventh, Sturgis eighth, St. Joseph ninth and Battle Creek Harper Creek 10th.
Mattawan finished 11th, Battle Creek Central 12th, Kalamazoo Loy Norrix 13th, Marshall 14th, Portage Northern 15th and Benton Harbor 16th.
Niles had four wrestlers advance to the finals, but only came away with one champion.
Mason Stephenson captured the 125-pound crown with a 10-4 decision over St. Joseph's David Rolek.
Jake Glueckert lost in the 103-pound title match to Brad Barker of Lakeshore, 5-1. Matt Poehlman suffered his first loss of the season as he was decisioned by Lakeshore's Justin Agens, 8-2, in the 119-pound championship match.
And Cinninger was decisioned by Northrop.
Niles' Todd Scansen finished fourth at 140 after losing a 7-0 decision to Josh Sleight of Battle Creek Harper Creek.
Niles' Ben Brandstatter finished fourth at 152-pounds as he was decisioned by Lakeshore's Brad LeValley, 9-2.
Josh Henry finished third at 189-pounds as he decisioned Marshall's Dan Krasinski, 5-3.
Finishing fifth for the Vikings were Bryce Flannery, Rodney Leneway and Chad Nichols.
Derek Purcell took sixth.
Dowagiac had two wrestlers reach the finals, seniors Jeromy Northrop, who decided Niles' Rob Cinninger, 14-5, and Matt Behnke, who was pinned by Coldwater's Brad Prater in 3:45.
Finishing fourth for the Chieftains was junior Tony Stewart, who lost to St. Joseph's Logan Klug, 2-1 in overtime at 275-pounds.
Team Results
1. Lakeshore 192.5, 2. Coldwater 160.5, 3. Niles 155, 4. Dowagiac 137.5, 5. Kalamazoo Central 120, 6. Battle Creek Lakeview 119, 7. Portage Central 104.5, 8. Sturgis 102.5, 9. St. Joseph 79, 10. Battle Creek Harper Creek 72, 11. Mattawan 60, 12. Battle Creek Central 46, 13. Kalamazoo Loy Norrix 35.5, 14. Marshall 34, 15. Portage Northern 30, 16. Benton Harbor12.5
Championship round
103: Brad Barker (L) d. Jake Glueckert (N) 5-1
112: Mark Harris (BCL) p. Kyle Hammermeister (L) 4:32
119: Justin Agens (L) d. Matt Poehlman (N) 8-2
125: Mason Stephenson (N) d. David Rolek (SJ) 10-4
130: Tom Renner (C) d. Zac Alkarusy (PC) 8-3
135: Justin Burke (BCL) d. Alec Bower (C) 6-1
140: Joel Harmon (C) d. Ted Amundsen (KC) 11-8
145: Jeromy Northrop (D) d. Rob Cinninger (N) 14-5
152: Blake Birmingham (BCL) d. Bill Amundsen (KC) 2-1
160: Justin Perry (SJ) d. Andy Gebhard (L) 6-3
171: Matt Wittmann (L) d. Steve Russell (PC) 10-2
189: Jordan Sherrod (PC) d. Max Martin (S) 8-3
215: Brad Prater p. Matt Behnke (D) 3:45
275: Liam Knapp (BCC) p. John Barrett (C) 1:48
Consolation Round
103: David Wiers (KC) d. Pranau Shah (SJ) 7-3
112: Mackenzie Smith (S) injury default Sean Tomac (M)
119: Adam Wilson (HC) t.f Kyle Hughes (PN) 16-1
125: Kyle LaBrecque (BCL) d. Alex Bolt (L) 12-1
130: Travis Everett (KC) d. Bryan Ammerson (SJ) 8-5
135: Jarod Nabor (KC) d. Drew Welke (L) 9-5
140: Josh Sleight (HC) d. Todd Scansen (N) 7-0
145: Daniel Tucker (C) d. Andrew Barland (BCC) 9-0
152: Brad LeValley (L) d. Ben Brandstatter (N) 9-2
160: Mark Griffin (M) inj. default Craig Wimberly (KC)
171: Kalvin Wilcox (M) d. Steve Larimer (LN) 9-4
189: Josh Henry (N) d. Dan Krasinski (M) 5-3
215: Zack Wilson (M) d. Jake Robone (S) 10-4
275: Logan Klug (SJ) d. Tony Stewart (D) 2-1 OT