Viking grapplers roll over visiting Covert, 76-6

Published 1:25 pm Thursday, January 20, 2005

By Staff
ERIKA PICKLES / Niles Daily Star
It was another blowout Wednesday night for the Niles wrestling team as it hosted and beat Covert, 76-6.
The Bulldogs gave up six forfeits and were only able to win one match against the Vikings.
Matt Poehlman had the first match of the night, as the 103- and 112-pound matches were won by forfeit.
Poehlman was able to pin Covert's Josh Looney 2:51 into the match, putting the Vikings up 18-0.
Derek Purcell went all three periods with Covert's Keith Colombel in the 130-pound class and was able to get the 11-1 win by decision.
Rodney Leneway, this week's athlete of the week, was up next for the Vikings against Cory Wells in the 135-pound class. Leneway pinned Wells 37 seconds into the match giving Niles its 34-0 lead.
John Wreggelsworth wrestled a great match against Covert's Noe Ramos in the 140-pound weight class. Wreggelsworth was able to get the pin 2:23 seconds in the seventh match of the night.
Robert Cinninger in the 152-pound class and Dan Lawson in the 160-pound class were also able to get pins in the first period of their matches. Cinninger pinned Rodney Spears 27 seconds into the match and Lawson pinned Ray Clark in 25 seconds of his match.
Joel Ealy suffered the only lose for Niles in a hard fought match against Marcileno Nunez. Ealy and Nunez stayed fairly even throughout the three periods, but it was Nunez who got the pin with 2.2 seconds left in the match.
Jake Gluekert, Bryce Flannery, Mason Stehpenson, Ben Brandstatter, Jake Groves and Chad Nichols all won by forfeit.
The Vikings travel to Dowagiac next Thursday for a Big 16 Conference West Division match.
The match is slated to begin with junior varsity matches at 6 p.m.
103: Jake Gluekert (N) won by forfeit
112: Bryce Flannery (N) won by forfeit
119: Matt Poehlman (N) p. Josh Looney, 2:51
125: Mason Stephenson (N) won by forfeit
130: Derek Purcell (N) d. Keith Colomrel, 11-1
135: Rodney Lenaway (N) p. Cory Wells, 1:22. 140: John Wreggelsworth (N) p. Noe Ramos, 2:23. 145: Ben Brandstatter (N) won by forfeit
152: Robert Cinninger (N) p. Rodney Spears, 1:33
160: Dan Lawson (N) p. Ray Clark, 1:33
171: Jake Groves (N) won by forfeit
189: Josh Henry (N) p. James Roberson, 1:17
215: Marcileno Nunez (C) p. Josh Ealy, 3:58
275: Chad Nichols (N) won by forfeit.