Dowagiac wins Decatur wrestling title with undefeated day

Published 12:23 pm Monday, January 10, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
DECATUR - The host Raiders and Dowagiac met once again in the championship match of the Chad Reeves Memorial Tournament on Saturday.
And, once again, the Chieftains came away victorious.
Dowagiac went a perfect 5-0 on the day to win another Decatur tournament championship.
The Chieftains defeated the Raiders, 51-18 in the title match.
Dowagiac also defeated Parchment, Olivet, Belding and Lawton to advance to the finals. The Raiders made it to the title match with victories over Vicksburg, Lakewood, Mendon and Cassopolis.
The Chieftains (17-5) defeated Parchment in the opening round of the tournament, 64-9, defeated Olivet in the second round, 60-16, defeated Belding in the third round, 49-30, and defeated Lawton in the fourth round, 68-9.
Decatur ended up 4-1 on the day to finish second, while Belding finished third with a 4-1 record. Cassopolis finished fourth after going 3-2 on the day.
Olivet, also 3-2, finished fifth with Vicksburg finishing sixth, Lawton seventh, Mendon eighth, Parchment ninth and Lakewood 10th.
Going undefeated on the day for the Chieftains were Nathan Cottrell (5-0), Terry Prowoznik (5-0), Jeromy Northrop (5-0), Kyle Bennett (5-0), Tony Stewart (5-0), Rob Duszynski (2-0) and Shawn Rawson (3-0).
Going 4-1 on the day for the Chieftains were Justin Richter, Justin Desjardin, Elijah Caldwell and Matt Behnke.
Also competing on Saturday for the Chieftains and earning at least one victory were Ryan Dutoi, Richie Hutchinson, Mike Kasper and Nathan Long.
Dowagiac recorded 24 pins in their five matches and received 15 forfeits from their opponents.
The Chieftains also had two technical falls.
In the finals against the Raiders, Cottrell, Richter, Prowoznik, Kasper, Northrop, Dejardin, Caldwell, Bennett, Rawson and Stewart were victorious.
Cottrell, Prowoznik, Caldwell, Bennett and Stewart all won by pin fall.
The Chieftains return to action on Thursday as they travel to Battle Creek to face Lakeview in a Big 16 Conference non-divisonal match.