Local girls named Second Team all-conference

Published 10:14 am Saturday, December 11, 2004

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
Two Buchanan players and one Brandywine hooper were named to the All- Lakeland Conference Second Team in girls' basketball.
The Bucks' DeeDee Thompson and Haley Cashier made the list, as did the Bobcats' Kalie Newman.
Conference champion Bridgman landed a pair of players on the all-league squad which was announced recently.
Heather Seyfred and Melani Demler of Bridgman were joined on the first team by Cassopolis' Jealyn Foston, Berrien Springs' Christine Drach and Coloma's Kachina Blackamore.
Cassopolis' Floyd Foston was named Coach of the Year.
First team
Heather Seyfred (Bridgman) , Melani Demler (Bridgman), Jealyn Foston (Cassopolis), Christine Drach (Berrien Springs), and Kachina Blackamore (Coloma).
Floyd Foston from Cassopolis was named Coach of the Year.
Second team
DeeDee Thompson (Buchanan), Kelsey Gordon (Cassopolis), Brittany Warren (River Valley), Kalie Newman (Brandywine), Haley Cashier (Buchanan).
Honorable mention
Leanna Rice (Bridgman), Michelle James (Cassopolis), Julie Harness (Edwardsburg), Shelly Roberts (Edwardsburg), Sarah Lange (Edwardsburg), Kerri Wood (Edwardsburg).