Two Chieftains named to All-State teams

Published 7:31 am Wednesday, November 10, 2004

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
The Dowagiac varsity soccer team had one of its best seasons ever, and as a result, the Chieftains are still being rewarded.
Dowagiac senior Alejandro Hernandez and junior Brian Edgerly have both been named to the Michigan High School Soccer Coaches Association All-State team which was selected over the weekend.
Dowagiac captured its first-ever district championship, led by Hernandez and Edgerly.
The Chieftains were eliminated 1-0 by Muskegon Orchard View in the semifinals.
Edgerly led Dowagiac with 20 goals. He also had six assists according to coach Mike Williams.
Hernandez, who for the good of the team played forward, scored 17 goals and had four assists.
Williams said that Edgerly used his speed to create opportunities for himself.
Williams added that having two players selected to the All-State team was a big step for the Chieftains.
Division 3 All-State Soccer
Second Team
David Sandberg, 12, Midfielder,
Northpointe Christian
Elliott Mast, 12, Sweeper, Calvin
Alejandro Hernandez, 12, Forward, Dowagiac Union
Ben Curtis, 12, Midfielder, Stockbridge
Torry Robbennolt, 12, Forward, Ithaca
Tyler Sporer, 12, Forward, Portland
Isaac Godfroy, 12, Midfielder, St. Mary Catholic
Alex Fenech, 12, Forward, Lake Fenton
Jack Dewan, 11, Midfielder, Flint Powers
Mike Yoder, 12, Forward, Elkton-Pigeon-Bayport
Jared Shaurnoch, 12, Forward, Lakeville
James Rybarsyk, 12, Midfielder, Elk Rapids
Darby Decker, 12, Forward, Tawas
Brent DesArmo, 11, Sweeper, Cheboygan
Kirk Mathews, 12, Goalkeeper,
Lumen Christi
Tim Jelsma, 11, Goalkeeper,
Calvin Christian
Honorable Mention
David Daniel, Almont
Ryan Loftis, Armada
Woo Jae Jang, B.C. Pennfield
Justin Essian, Bad Axe
Matt Greyerbiehl, Bad Axe
Paul Andres, Big Rapids
Matt Spencer, Bishop Foley
Jacob Rosiek, Bishop Foley
Bryan Kloss, Bishop Foley
Brad Merrick, Bridgman
Matt Kunnen, Calvin Christian
Andrew Granger, Cheboygan
Zach Burandt, Cheboygan
Jared Fosmore, Cheboygan
Vaughn Brines, Clare
Dustin Wachler, Country Day
Brian Edgerly, Dowagiac
Brandel Hubbell, Elk Rapids
Ian Sliger, Elk Rapids
Garrett Gribbi, Elk Rapids
Dan Bowerman, Elk Rapids
Mitch Yoder, Elkton Pigeon
Jackson Maust, Elkton Pigeon Bayport
Andrew White, Flint Powers
Kevin Smalley, Gladwin
Vince Ceccarelli, Grosse Ile
David Rouse, Hackett
Tommy Heyboer, Kalamazoo
Trent Dziurman, Lake Fenton
Chris Dean, Lansing Christian
Ryan McManus, Lansing
Andy Biskupski, Lumen Christi
Daiki Mori, Lumen Christi
Keith Jeffrey, Madison Height Lamphere
Keith Lelli, Madison Heights
Bobby Jock, Memphis
Nate Falkenberg, New Boston Huron
Zach Koster, Northpointe
Brent Hull, Northpointe
Byron Crosby, Orchard View
Todd Kuhlman, Orchard View
Josh Sutton, Orchard View
Han Julianus, Otsego
Tommy Wechtner, Saginaw
Noe Barco, Shelby
Jose Hernandez, Shelby
Cahd Glandorf, Stockbridge
Patryk Tenorio, Tawas
Scott Wesley, Tawas
Ricky Corsi, Whitehall
Nolan Grieve, Whitehall