Bobcat players honored at season ending banquet

Published 7:30 am Wednesday, November 10, 2004

By By ADAM FISHER / Niles Daily Star
Senior tight end and linebacker Zach Bennett was named Brandywine's team Most Valuable Player Tuesday at the Bobcats' season ending banquet held at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind.
Brandywine's award for MVP is called the Jerry Post Award in honor of a Bobcats football player killed in a car accident in the '60s.
Bennett led the Bobcats in receptions, receiving yards this season. He also led the team in tackles.
The second major award of the banquet, the Don Arend Award for outstanding attitude and committment to Brandywine football was handed out to John Brock. The award is named for a former Bobcats' coach.
The Bobcats used the banquet to recognize its All-Conference selections. Bennett made Second Team All-Lakeland Conference at tight end and at linebacker. Defensive back Alex Newman and defensive tackle Alan Schoff were selected to the Honorable Mention list.
The coaches also named their captains for the year. These were players head coach Terry Borr said provided the most leadership throughout the season. Bennett, Will Johns, Newman and Jeff VanLaere were named the captains.
In addition, Brandywine's coaches gave special awards to three seniors who played football all three years – VanLaere, Brian Echevarria and Jeremy Howell.
At the conclusion of the awards ceremony, the players and their families watched a highlight film of the 2004 season. The video was shown in the Hall of Fame's large screen theatre. This was the third year in a row Brandywine has held its season ending banquet at the Hall of Fame.