Three Vikings named First Team All-Division

Published 7:18 am Monday, November 8, 2004

By Staff
Although Niles football team had an off year, three Vikings were named to the All-Southwest Michigan Athletic Conference West Division First Team.
Center Matt Richardson, linebacker Tyler Yost and running back Lyle Watson were named to the All-Division team, head coach Dave Janicki announced Sunday at Niles' end of the season football banquet at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind.
Niles also had five players named to the All-SMAC Second Team. Defensive end Jake Groves, defensive lineman Nick Otolski, safety Nathan Parks, wide receiver Adrian Davis and tight end Jason Rutkowski were the Vikings named to the Second Team.
Watson also made the Honorable Mention All-SMAC team as a punter. Linebacker Bob Cinninger, tackle Peter Brandstatter and running back Paul Bella also made the Honorable Mention team.
Janicki said the awards were an honor because he is not allowed to vote for his own players for the All-Division teams. The players were honored because other coaches in the West Division thought they played well throughout the season.
The Academic All-State team will be announced after the MHSAA playoffs have finished, but Janicki said he expects Niles to make that team as well. Niles has been named to the All-Academic team each of the past four seasons.