Timm upsets Archer for Howard Township treasurer’s job

Published 6:45 am Wednesday, November 3, 2004

By By SPIROS GALLOS / Niles Daily Star
NILES - Shaune M. Timm spent much of Tuesday night and Wednesday morning nervously awaiting the results of Howard Township treasurer race.
With the first and third precincts' votes counted, Republican candidate Timm trailed Democratic incumbent Amy Archer by 44 votes.
At around 2:20 a.m., the final numbers from the Howard Township second precinct were delivered to the township business offices as Timm and other candidates for township positions eagerly waited.
All the votes are counted and the results have been submitted. Howard Township citizens voted for a change at the treasurer position with Timm taking 1,414 votes, 33 more than the 1,381 which Archer received.
This time isn't the first Archer and Timm have opposed each other for the treasurer position.
After the recall forced by the Howard Township Taxpayers Watchdog Group in December of 2003, which unseated former Treasurer Eileen Glick and Supervisor Hal Davis, Timm and Archer both ran for the position, Archer successfully.
Archer voiced her disappointment with the results of the election.
Contacted this morning, Archer said she does not anticipate seeking a recount of ballots.
Howard Township citizens also chose to retain Republican Township Supervisor Michael Sutherland on Tuesday.
Sutherland was elected to the position of supervisor after Davis was recalled in December.
Sutherland, who has held the position of supervisor for almost eight months since he was elected in February, is looking forward to his first full term.
Sutherland, who received 1,601 votes, defeated Gerald "Butch" Harrison, the chairman of the Howard Township Parks Board, who receive 1,191 votes.
Harrison said he enjoyed campaigning and he enjys participating in the township government.
The Republican sweep of the Howard Township government was completed with the election of the township trustees.
Republican newcomers Irving Frost, Jr. and Shelby Farmer filled the two open trustee seats, with Frost, Jr. earning the most votes with 1,604 and Farmer taking the second greatest number of votes with 1,545.
Incumbent trustees George C. Johnson and Mike Richmond, both who survived the December recall, retained their seats with 1,473 and 1,474 votes respectively.
Democratic trustee candidates William E. Wozniak and Emery L. Hirschler made strong showings, but ultimately fell short, earning 1,337 and 1,296 votes respectively.