Buchanan wins title

Published 10:12 pm Monday, August 9, 2004

By By ADAM FISHER / Niles Daily Star
Eaton Park wrapped up its 30th annual Invitational Tournament Saturday, with Buchanan winning the Little League Division C championship. Several local teams also finished runners-up in their divisions.
Peanut League
Division B
Berrien Springs….9
Alex Hardy went 2-for-3 for Brandywine in the championship game. Hardy made the Peanut All-Tournament Team. Howard Township's Tate Brawley also made the All-Tournament Team.
Minor League
Division B
Christopher Mangus had two hits and two RBIs to lead Brandywine. Conrad Smallmon had three hits and one RBI. Watervliet's victory forced a second game.
Mangus again led Brandywine with two doubles and two RBIs. Smallmon had three hits including a home run. Watervliet won the championship.
Division C
Niles F.O.P….5
Benton Harbor….4
Kevin Hatcher doubled twice, including an RBI, to lead Niles and force a second championshp game. Derek Scott, Ethan Zimmerman and Geordan Griffin also had two hits for Niles.
Benton Harbor….8
Niles F.O.P….6
In the second game, Mitchell Dehn had three hits for Niles. Evan Hartman, Connor Glick and Skyler Kimble added two hits a piece. Niles' Griffin made the All-Tournament team. Austin Searles from Brandywine also made the team.
Little League
Division B
Mikel Lindzy had two hits to lead Brandywine. Wayne Marazita added a double. Bridgman scored six runs in the top of the fourth to apply the 10-run rule. Aaron Saltsman for Brandywine and Adam Byrdak for Buchanan made the division's All-Tournament teams.
Division C
N. Lincoln No. 1….2
Buchanan scored its 16 runs on 12 hits. Bryan Kuntz had three hits, including a double and a home run, and five RBIs to lead Buchanan to the championship. Jake Wahlstrom singled twice for four RBIs. Wahlstrom and Drew Hearington made the All-Tournament team for Buchanan. Montrel Merrit made the team for Niles F.O.P. Niles won the sportsmanship award.