Myers, Sutherland win in primary for township supervisor seats

Published 9:44 pm Wednesday, August 4, 2004

By By JAN GRIFFEY / Niles Daily Star
NILES - Niles Township Supervisor Bill Myers survived a challenge by township resident David Spurlock in Tuesday's primary election.
Myers defeated Spurlock 517 to 440.
Myers will not face a Democratic challenger in November's general election.
Also Tuesday, mostly Niles Township's incumbent trustees were returned to office.
Incumbents Richard Cooper, Richard Noble and Kevin Tonkin will be joined by newcomer Ronald Goodwin.
Noble earned the most votes with 557, followed by Goodwin's 519, Cooper's 494 and Tonkin's 442.
Incumbent Robert Jones, who has served on the township's public safety board, was not returned to office.
Former township clerk Bill Barthel earned 370 votes in his quest for a township trustee seat. Jones received 365 votes. Other challengers were Bruce Ruff, 357; and Dan Smotherman, 353.
There are no Democratic candidates for trustees on the ballot in November.
Township treasurer Jim Ringler survived a challenge by Richard Conrad. Ringler earned 528 votes to Conrad's 425.
Ringler will face Democratic challenger Linda Norman in November's general election.
Marge Durm-Hiatt, Niles Township clerk, was unopposed in Tuesday's primary and she faces no opposition in November.
Howard Township
Incumbent Michael Sutherland handily defeated challenger Craig Bradfield, a township trustee, for the Howard Township supervisor's job, 393 to 208.
Sutherland will face Democratic challenger Gerald "Butch" Harrison in November's general election.
Township clerk Shirley Tuttle earned 477 votes as she faced no opposition in Tuesday's primary race. She also faces no Democratic challenger in November.
Township Treasurer Amy Archer will square off with Republican challenger Shawne M. Timm in November's general election for the township's treasurer's post.
Incumbent trustees Mike Richmond, 281 votes, and George Johnson, 309 votes, along with newcomers Shelby Farmer, 309 votes and Irving Frost Jr., 399 votes, will face Democratic challengers Emery L. Hirschler and William E. Wozniak for four available seats in November's general election.