Brandywine teams bring home titles, individual honors from district tournaments

Published 4:31 pm Wednesday, June 9, 2004

By Staff
The teams of the Lakeland Conference earned their fair share of individual awards when the coaches of the Division 3 District 85 and District 86 Tournaments voted on All-District honors.
Brandywine, which won the tournament at Buchanan, landed five players on the All-District list and head coach Dave Sidenbender was named the Coach of the Year.
Catcher Aaron Holy, first baseman Casey Udell, outfielder Billy Syrette, utility player Josh Atwood and pitcher Kory Bridges all received All-District honors.
Edwardsburg, the winner of the tournament at Constantine, landed four players on the All-District list and head coach A.J. Gaideski was named the Coach of the Year.
Catcher Nathan Peak, outfielder Anthony Peak, outfielder Jon Muff and pitcher Zac Rooney each earned All-District honors.
Bridgman, Buchanan and River Valley, also members of the Lakeland Conference accounted for six other All-District players.
The Academic All-District list also included several players from the Lakeland Conference. Brandywine's Holy and Zach Bennett, Buchanan's Josh Wahlstrom and Dustin Moore, Edwardsburg's Jesse Johnson, River Valley's Keith Zabel, Kevin Zabel and Paul Reitz, Bridgman's Mike Pawlik and Josh Hurst, and Berrien Springs' John Ewalt, Kevin Lee and Josh Perkins all made the list.
In addition to winning the team title, the Brandywine varsity softball team took home several individual honors from the Division 3 District Tournament Saturday at Buchanan High School.
Five players and head coach Jim Myers were awarded All-District honors. Ashley Antus was honored as an outfielder, Michelle Shoemaker was honored as a first baseman, Kayla Asmus was honored for her play at third base, Dee Echevarria was honored as a catcher and Nicki McGowen was honored for her pitching. Myers was named the Coach of the Year.
The Bobcats will take on Hartford Saturday at Hartford High School in the first semifinal at the Division 3 Regional Tournament. Game time is 10 a.m.