Buchanan wins 12th straight league crown

Published 2:21 pm Saturday, May 15, 2004

By By DAN WEISS / Niles Daily Star
For the 12th straight season, the Buchanan tennis team won the Lakeland Conference championship Friday in Niles and St. Joseph.
The Bucks, which are ranked No. 3 in Division 4, swept all eight flights of the Lakeland Conference Tournament that was held at the Lakeland Athletic Club in Niles an the South Shore Club in St. Joseph due to rain.
The No. 1 and No. 2 singles players along with the No. 1 and No. 2 doubles players made the trip to St. Joseph while the rest of the field played in Niles.
Edwardsburg took second place followed by Berrien Springs, Coloma, Bridgman, Brandywine and Cassopolis.
In the No. 1 singles final, Buchanan's Jose Gonzalez beat Berrien Springs' Andrew Lewis 6-0, 6-0.
In the No. 2 singles title match, Buchanan's Jeff Eifler beat Coloma's Cody Krieger 6-3, 6-0.
In the No. 3 singles final, Buchanan's True Sulier beat Brian Davis of Edwardsburg 6-2, 6-3.
Buchanan's Ryan Skene beat Coloma's Steve Covert 6-0, 6-0 in the No. 4 singles title match.
The Buchanan team of Chad Van Lue and Doug Summers beat Edwardsburg's Nathan Heffner and Brandon Muszynski 6-1, 6-1 in the No. 1 doubles final.
In the No. 2 doubles title match the Buchanan team of Alex Gordon and Alex Flood beat Matt Cooke and Eric Sernau of Berrien Springs 6-3, 6-2.
Buchanan's Mike Otwell and Korey Camp beat Edwardsburg's Andrew Marbach and Justin Praklat 6-1, 6-1 in the No. 3 doubles final.
In the No. 4 doubles final the Buchanan team of Dustin Sieff and Andrew Gordon beat Ted Pietzrek and Nathan Harness of Edwardsburg 6-0, 6-1.
Buchanan will host the Division 4 Regional Tournament next Friday at Leeper Park in South Bend, Ind., weather permitting.
The Bucks will host South Haven for a non-conference match on Wednesday at 4 p.m.
Brandywine travels to Niles for a makeup match on Thursday at 4 p.m.