Seven Bobcats in D4 regional

Published 6:23 am Monday, February 23, 2004

By By DAN WEISS / Niles Daily Star
Brandywine is sending seven wrestlers to the Division 4 Individual Regional Tournament next Saturday at Bronson High School.
The Bobcats had six individuals in the championship round at Saturday's Division 4 Individual District Tournament at Eau Claire, but none won individual championships.
Buchanan will send four to the Regional Tournament as two Bucks reached the championship round and one won a title. Travis Reith beat Brandywine's Mike Morrison 4-2 in the 112-pound final.
Also in the championship round, Brandywine's John Farrell dropped a 4-0 decision to Watervliet's Cody Weiand at 119 pounds. River Valley's Todd Ehlert beat Buchanan's David Medlin by a 16-0 technical fall at 130 pounds. At 145 pounds, Hartford's Julian Arreola beat Brandywine's Adam Ringler 2-0. Ryan Comer of Eau Claire beat Brandywine's Evan Smith 7-6 in the 152-pound final. Bangor's Tom McColl beat Brandywine's Bryan Daniel 6-0 in the 171-pound final.
In the consolation round, Ashley McCoy of Cassopolis pinned Buchanan's Todd Taylor at 3:40 in the 103-pound match. Brandywine's Matt Koller beat Gregg Osburn of Hartford 2-1 at 135 pounds. At 140 pounds, Randy Hemminger of Cassopolis beat Brandywine's Robert Thompson 9-4. Buchanan's Bill Lange pinned James Smith of Covert at 3:30 of the 275-pound match.
Brandywine will compete in the Division 4 Team Regional Tournament Wednesday night at Galien High School. Cassopolis, Bangor and Watervliet will also be at that tournament. Brandywine faces Bangor at 6 p.m. while Watervliet and Cassopolis also square off at 6 p.m.
Championship round
103: Brett Golliher (Decatur) beat John Stein (River Valley) 7-1; 112: Travis Reith (Buchanan) beat Mike Morrison (Brandywine) 4-2; 119: Cody Wieand (Watervliet) beat John Farrell (Brandywine) 4-0; 125: Justin Tucker (Cassopolis) beat Chris Chappell (Hartford) 14-1 (major decision); 130: Todd Ehlert (River Valley) beat David Medlin (Buchanan) 16-0 (technical fall); 135: Aaron Austin (Bangor) beat Mike Stein (River Valley) 9-8; 140: David Williamson (Decatur) beat Jeremy Ashley (Watervliet) 11-7; 145: Julian Arreola (Hartford) beat Adam Ringler (Brandywine) 2-0; 152: Ryan Comer (Eau Claire) beat Evan Smith (Brandywine) 7-6; 160: Brian Cady (Decatur) pinned Josh Rigozzi (Bangor) 3:33; 171: Tom McColl (Bangor) beat Bryan Daniel (Brandywine) 6-0; 189: Dustin Gordon (Bangor) beat Ben Isbrecht (Watervliet) 14-6 (major decision); 215: Levon Mock (Bangor) pinned Jordan Rasmussen (Decatur) 1:30; 275: Derrick Haman (River Valley) pinned Jamie Llerena (Bangor) 5:35.
Consolation round
103: Ashley McCoy (Cassopolis) pinned Todd Taylor (Buchanan) 3:40; 112: Matt Johnson (Decatur) pinned Dusten Burrows (Bangor) 2:59; 119: John McCoy (Cassopolis) pinned Ben Efting (Hartford) 4:19; 125: Rahim Hodge (Bangor) beat Jimmy Lucas (Eau Claire) by forfeit; 130: Lonnie Simmons (Watervliet) beat Adam Schmidke (Lake Michigan Catholic) 10-3; 135: Matt Koller (Brandywine) beat Gregg Osburn (Hartford) 2-1; 140: Randy Hemminger (Cassopolis) beat Robert Thompson (Brandywine) 9-4; 145: Darrick Parker (Bangor) pinned Kenny Brown (Cassopolis) 2:47; 152: Kameron Morris (Watervliet) beat Ben Haight (Hartford) 4-0; 160: Matt Houser (Lawrence) beat Chris Rasmussen (Decatur) 5-3; 171: Randy Deaton (River Valley) pinned Adam Costner (Watervliet) 3:32; 189: Ray Porter (Bangor) beat John Creekmore (Galien) 12-10; 215: Jim Keech (Watervliet) beat Mickey Muterspaugh (Eau Claire) 12-5; 275: Bill Lange (Buchanan) pinned James Smith (Covert) 3:30