Bobcats win 8th straight district

Published 6:07 am Thursday, February 19, 2004

By Staff
The Brandywine varsity wrestling team secured its eighth straight district title Wednesday night by beating Lakeland Conference rival Buchanan, 45-27, in the championship match at Galien High School.
The Bobcats, which are now 15-6 on the year, also beat River Valley 41-24 in semifinal action Wednesday night. Buchanan beat Galien 66-18 in the semifinals.
The Bucks finish the year with a record of 23-10, good enough for a school record for most wins in a single season.
The championship match started at 171 pounds and the two team battled to a 21-21 tie with five weight classes to go. Brandywine then rattled off four straight pins to seal the victory.
Matt Koller stuck Buchanan's Tyler Mitchell in 54 seconds; Robert Thompson needed 2:21 to pin Ray Payne; Adam Ringler pinned Matt Dykema in 3:24; and Evan Smith stuck A.J. Long in 55 seconds to complete the decisive run for the Bobcats.
Brandywine will take parte in the individual district tournament Saturday at Eau Claire High School before competing in the Division 4 Team Regional Tournament next Wednesday night, again at Galien. The Bobcats will be joined by Cassopolis, Watervliet and the winner of the Bangor district tournament.
103: Todd Taylor (BU) pinned Ryan Horner 3:13; 112: Mike Morrison (BR) beat Travis Reith 5-1; 119: John Farrell (BR) pinned John Beechler 5:13; 125: Nick Wheetley (BU) pinned Jeff Bridges 5:11; 130: David Medlin (BU) beat Kyle Perry 8-7; 135: Matt Koller (BR) pinned Tyler Mitchell :54; 140: Robert Thompson (BR) pinned Ray Payne 2:21; 145: Adam Ringler (BR) pinned Matt Dykema 3:24; 152: Evan Smith (BR) pinned A.J. Long :55; 160: Robert Newton (BU) pinned Billy Syrette :44; 171: Kale Burks (BU) beat Bryan Daniel 6-3; 189: Andy Daus (BR) pinned Ryan Harrington 3:41; 215: Ryan Carrigan (BU) beat Brian Echevarria 10-8 (OT); 275: Josh Johns (BR) pinned Bill Lange 1:30