Brandywine clinches first Lakeland title since 1983

Published 4:41 am Thursday, February 5, 2004

By By DAN WEISS / Niles Daily Star
NILES -- For the first time since 1983, the Brandywine varsity wrestling team is the champion of the Lakeland Conference.
The Bobcats completed an undefeated season in the league Wednesday night with two conference victories.
Brandywine beat Berrien Springs 59-23 to start the night and then beat Edwardsburg 41-27 to complete the clean sweep of the league.
Despite the league title drought, the Bobcats have had their share of success as they have won seven straight district titles.
While the Bobcats took control of the Berrien Springs match early on, it wasn't until the 160-pound match that they took the lead for good against Edwardsburg.
After and Edwardsburg pin in the 103-pound match, Brandywine's Mike Morrison came up with an 11-9 overtime win at 112 pounds.
Morrison tied the match in the final 20 seconds of regulation and then scored a two-point takedown in the overtime period for the victory.
Brandywine's John Farrell picked up a 15-3 major decision over Andy Breslin at 119 pounds to give the Bobcats a slim 7-6 lead.
Edwardsburg, however, recorded pins in the next two matches to regain an 18-7 lead.
Brandywine's Matt Koller stopped the Eddies' run with a pin of Alex Hall at 135 pounds. Robert Thompson then beat Edwardsburg's Russel Grieger by a major decision of 13-2 at 140 pounds. Adam Ringler's pin of Edwardsburg's John Tutorous in 1:25 at 145 pounds gave Brandywine a 23-18 lead.
Rex Kendle ended the Brandywine run with a 7-0 decision over Evan Smith at 152 pounds.
The next three matches were all Brandywine as Billy Syrette earned a 12-7 decision over Bob Leda at 160 pounds, Bryan Daniel beat Bill Miller 5-4 at 171 pounds and Andy Daus sealed the victory with a pin of Jim Fein at 1:48 of the 189-pound match, giving the Bobcats an insurmountable 35-21 lead.
The two team split the final two matches of the night as Brandywine had already assured itself of the victory.
All three teams will meet again at the Lakeland Conference Tournament, scheduled for Saturday, Feb. 14.
103: Zach Wilfert (E) pinned Ryan Horner :45; 112: Mike Morrison (B) beat Dustin Wilfert 11-9 (OT); 119: John Farrell (B) beat Andy Breslin 15-3; 125: Tyler Carson (E) pinned Jeff Bridges 1:03; 130: Matt Peters (E) pinned Kyle Perry 3:57; 135: Matt Koller (B) pinned Alex Hall 4:27; 140: Robert Thompson (B) beat Russel Grieger 13-2; 145: Adam Ringler (B) pinned John Tutorous 1:25; 152: Rex Kendle (E) beat Evan Smith 7-0; 160: Billy Syrette (B) beat Bob Leda 12-7; 171: Bryan Daniel (B) beat Bill Miller 5-4; 189: Andy Daus (B) pinned Jim Fein 1:48; 215: Matt Rinehardt (E) pinned Brian Echevarria 3:59; 275: Josh Johns (E) won by forfeit
Berrien Springs….23
103: Zach Gordon (BS) pinned Ryan Horner :53; 112: Mike Morrison (B) pinned Cody Davis 1:58; 119: John Farrell (B) beat Josh Gordon by injury default; 125: Kyle Froehlich (BS) pinned Jeff Bridges 2:54; 130: Josh Engelkeimer (BS) pinned Dan DeVos 1:01; 135: Matt Koller (B) won by forefit; 140: Robert Thompson (B) beat Peter Wyman 18-2; 145: Adam Ringler (B) won by forfeit; 152: Evan Smith (B) pinned Rob Babojonor :52; 160: Alex Hill (BS) beat Kyle Jones 15-0; 171: Bryan Daniel (B) pinned David Smith 5:20; 189: Andy Daus (B) pinned David Medlin :23; 215: Brian Echevarria (B) won by forfeit; 275: Josh Johns (B) pinned Jason Rafter :42