Niles evens its West Division record with 63-12 win

Published 2:03 am Friday, January 9, 2004

By Staff
The Niles varsity wrestling team improved to 1-1 in Big 16 West Division action with a 63-12 win at Benton Harbor Thursday night.
Niles recorded eight pins, two of them in less than one minute. Benton Harbor forfeited two matches.
The Vikings will join the Tigers again on Saturday in the Berrien CountyMeet at St. Joseph High School.
Benton Harbor….12
103: Matt Poehlman (N) pinned Jessica Miles :21; 112: Bryce Flannery (N) pinned George Piggee 1:12; 119: Derek Purcell (N) pinned Larry Graham 5:00; 125: Mason Stephenson (N) won by forfeit; 130: George Nelson (N) won by forfeit; 135: Demetre White (B) beat Charles Nelson 4-3; 140: Rodney Leneway (N) pinned Cedric Reed :46; 145: Kyle Isabel (N) pinned Demonte Clark 3:19; 152: Robert Cinninger (N) pinned Antawan Davis 1:45; 160: Aaron Jenkins (B) beat Dan Lawson 15-12; 171: Josh Henry (N) beat Anthony Williams 7-4; 189: Jake Groves (N) pinned James Fryson 3:19; 215: James Edwards (N) pinned Montreze Johnson 1:14; 275: Rodney Driver (B) pinned Dustin Sullivan :31
Bucks edged by tiebreaker
Buchana was defeated by the slimmest of margins by River Valley Wednesday night.
Both teams scored 35 points but the Mustangs won the match based on the tiebreaker of most pins.
River Valley had four pins compared to one pin for Buchanan.
The Bucks and Mustangs will also compete at St. Joseph Saturday in the Berrien County Meet.
River Valley….35
103: John Stein (RV) beat Todd Taylor 3-2; 112: Travis Reith (B) pinned Kyle Gordon 3:03; 119: Nick Wheatley (B) beat Peter Linscheld 16-1 (major decision); 125: Kenny Hall (B) won by forfeit; 130: Todd Ehlert (RV) beat David Medlin 12-1 (major decision); 135: Mike Stein (RV) beat Tyler Mitchell 17-8 (major decision); 140: Dustin Smith (RV) pinned Matt Dykema 1:15; 145: Jason Ehlert (RV) beat Dan Toth 9-7; 152: Jim Becker (RV) pinned Ray Payne 2:36; 160: A.J. Louis (B) won by forfeit; 171: Kale Burks (B) beat Randy Deaton 12-8; 189: Tim Morrissey (RV) pinned Ryan Harrington :34; 215: John Gardner (B) won by forfeit; 275: Derrick Haman (RV) pinned John Gillham 1:23