2003 Football All-Stars announced

Published 11:21 pm Tuesday, December 9, 2003

By By DAN WEISS / Niles Daily Star
NILES -- The Niles and Dowagiac football teams each landed six players on the 2003 edition of the Leader Publications Football All-Stars.
The All-Stars, voted on by the sports staffs of the Niles Daily Star and Dowagiac Daily News, can be found on Page 5 of today's paper.
Niles, a State Playoff qualifier and district finalist, was led on the All-Star squad by Class B Player of the Year Lonnie Jones, a senior running back. Also on the All-Star squad from Niles were senior offensive lineman Nick Merrick, junior offensive lineman Matt Richardson, senior defensive linemen Rob Schuelke and James Edwards and senior linebacker Stacy Caskey.
Dowagiac coach Mike Stanger received Coach of the Year recognition from Leader Publications. Dowagiac players on the All-Star squad were senior runing back Bryan Powell, offensive linemen Jim Kehrer and Michael Johnson, defensive lineman Ryan Withorn, defensive back Robbie Ferrier and kicker Hillary Bisnett.
Edwardsburg, also a playoff qualifier, landed five players on the All-Star squad. The Eddies honored were punter Derek Tighe, tight end Anthony Peak, offensive lineman Dustin Bates and defensive back Nathan Peak.
Cassopolis also qualified for the State Playoffs and had three players receive All-Star recognition in defensive lineman Simon Ballard, linebacker Kirk Baucom and kick returner Ashton Danzy.
Brandywine's two players on the All-Star squad were running back Billy Syrette and quarterback Evan Smith.
Buchanan also had two players on the All-Star squad in defensive lineman Ryan Carrigan and defensive back Kyle Cornwell.