Brandie Radde earns All-State recognition

Published 11:10 pm Friday, December 5, 2003

By By DAN WEISS / Niles Daily Star
NILES -- Setting the school record for 3-pointers made in a season and moving within eight of setting the career record was just one of Niles sophomore Brandie Radde's accomplishments this past basketball season.
Radde was recently named to the Class B All-State Honorable Mention list, voted on by the Associated Press.
As a freshman, Radde made the Big-16 Conference All-West Division First Team. As a sophomore Radde was the top vote-getter in the All-West Division voting.
Radde was the team's leading scorer at 12.1 points per game and the fourth leading rebounder with an average of five boards per game.
Radde finished the 2003 season with 48 3-pointers to set a new school record for 3-pointers in a season. She has 76 career 3-pointers and needs just eight to overtake Stephanie Hardy's record of 83.
Radde registered 59 steals for a 2.4 per game average. She also blocked 14 shots and handed out 2.8 assists per game.
She made 64-of-145 (44.1 percent) from 2-point range and 48-of-112 (42.9 percent) from 3-point range this past season. She also made 31-of-40 (77.5 percent) of her free throws.
Radde is one of three sophomores, two freshmen and four juniors who will return next season for the Vikings, which finished the 2003 season with a record of 21-4 and won their seventh straight district title.
2003 Class B
Girls Basketball All-State
First Team
Crystal Zick, Byron Center, 5-11, Sr. (Class B Player of the Year)
Erin Cyplik, St. Clair, 5-9, Sr.
Janelle Cooper, Detroit Renaissance, 5-10, Sr.
Lyndsay Miller, Ida, 6-1, Sr.
Mary Riley, Dearborn Heights Robichaud, 5-8, Sr.
Maria Kasza, Kalkaska, 5-7, Sr.
Andrea Doneth, Lansing Catholic, 5-11, So.
Charity Knight, Otsego, 5-7, Jr.
Angel Chan, Wyoming Park, 5-10, Jr.
Karlie LeRoy, Saginaw Nouvel
Marissa Thrower, Detroit Renaissance.
Coach of the Year
Diane Jones, Detroit Renaissance.
Special Mention
(Nominees receiving two or more votes from the 11-member panel)
Katie Guerriero, Jackson Lumen Christi; Lindy Papes, Scottville Mason County Central; Katie Loosvelt, Gibraltar Carlson; Erin Kolnitys, Tawas Area; Gina VanderMarliere, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore; Melissa Griffin, Whitehall.
Sandy Rutledge, St. Clair; Roy Raymond, Linden.
Honorable Mention
(Nominees receiving one or no votes from the 11-member panel)
Abigail Way, Fowlerville; Ashley Backhus, Croswell-Lexington; Brandie Radde, Niles; Brianna Berry, Flint Southwestern Academy; Carrie Snikkers, Unity Christian; Christin Borsenik, Corunna; Danielle Moss, Benzonia Benzie Central; Jaclyn Armstrong, Haslett; Jamie Smith. St. Clair Shores Lake Shore; Jordan Judge, Riverview; Julie Baltmanis, Paw Paw; Karly Bethune, Frankenmuth; Kayla Cooper, Harrison; Kelly Laux, Ionia; Kristin Morris, Detroit Country Day; Lindsey Spaulding, Belding; Nichole Roose, Macomb Lutheran North; Nikki Wyers, White Cloud; Rachelle Matthys, St. Clair; Sabel Conley, Belding; Sam Johns, Allendale; Stacey Warsen, Grand Rapids South Christian; Tedi Johnston, New Boston Huron; Tricia Everett, Saginaw Swan Valley; Candice Marut, Pinconning; Rebecca Rufli, Linden; Danielle Makins, Grosse Ile.
Dan Doneth, Lansing Catholic; Daren Bongard, Croswell-Lexington; Dina Hackert, Ludington; Kathy McGee, Flint Powers Catholic; Sara Holt, Belding; Todd Kaems, Tawas Area; Pat McMullen, Otsego.