Mustangs rule baseball unit

Published 1:26 am Thursday, June 12, 2003

By By DAN WEISS / Vigilant/Argus
NILES -- River Valley is ranked No. 3 in the final Division 3 state rankings.
The Mustangs won the district tournament last weekend at their home field.
They also went undefeated in Lakeland Conference play this season.
So, it's no surprise that four River Valley players made the league's All-Conference First Team, recently voted upon by the conference coaches.
Pitcher Clay Frye, infielder Steve Terry, outfielder Colby Caid and player at large Ricky Martin each made the First Team.
River Valley coach Neil Carter also earned Coach of the Year honors.
Edwardsburg, which finished fifth in the league standings with a record of 5-7, landed three players on the First Team. Catcher Nathan Peak, infielder Zach Rooney and outfielder Anthony Peak made the list. The Eddies also won a district championship and will join River Valley at Saturday's Division 3 Regional Tournament at Constantine.
Coloma, which finished second in the league standings with a record of 9-3, landed two players on the First Team. Pitcher Adam Vawter and infielder Nate Clements each made the list. The Comets won the Division 2 District at their home field.
Berrien Springs infielder Scott Marks and Brandywine outfielder Billy Syrette each made the First Team as well.
Lakeland All-Conference
Second Team
Pitchers: Brandon Cummings, River Valley; Brian Rogers, Coloma; Casey Wright, Berrien Springs
Catcher: Nolan Martin, Berrien Springs
Infielders: Wes Boven, Coloma; Casey Udell, Brandywine; Brandon Godsey, Buchanan; Josh Westfall, Berrien Springs
Outfielders: Rocky Boswell, Berrien Springs; Jay Erney, Coloma; P.J. Pollock, Buchanan
Player at Large: Jason Rietveld, Cassopolis
Honorable Mention
Catchers: Chris Immoos, Coloma; Josh Atwood, Brandywine
Infielders: Bob Edelberg, Coloma; Erich Biggart, Coloma; Josh Wahlstrom, Buchanan; Gary Wilson, River Valley; Matt Wieger, Brandywine
Outfielders: Charlie Buetter, Coloma; John Solloway, Cassopolis