Archived Story

SMC reappoints seven to Foundation Board

Published 10:39am Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Southwestern Michigan College Board of Trustees reappointed seven SMC Foundation Board members at its meeting Monday night.

According to SMC President David M. Mathews, “The SMC Foundation Board is made up of community supporters who not only value education in general, but also value the pivotal role SMC plays in providing new leaders for each of the communities we serve. Board members serve without compensation and are responsible for guiding our development efforts as we continue to expand SMC’s mission.”

Reappointed to the SMC Foundation Board:


Michele Boyd



Boyd is the president and owner of Signal Travel and Tours and has been a member of the SMC Foundation Board since 1990.

A past president of the Foundation Board, she currently serves on the Friends and Fundraising committee.

Boyd is active in the Niles/Buchanan Rotary Club, Lakeland Health Foundation Board and is a past member of the Niles Downtown Development Association.


Judge Paul Deats



Deats has been a member of the SMC Foundation Board since 1992.

Retiring in 2008 from Cass County District Court, Deats holds a position on the Ontwa Township Board of Review and, by assignment, sits as a visiting judge.


Thomas Deneau



Deneau is president of Wightman and Associates Inc., Benton Harbor, and has served on the SMC Foundation since 2006. He currently serves on the Nomination Committee.


Todd Franklin



A member of the SMC Foundation Board since 2004, Franklin most recently held the position of foundation vice president.

Franklin also serves on the Chemical Bank Niles Advisory Board.


Dick Judd



Judd is president of Judd Lumber Co. and is the longest-serving member on the SMC Foundation Board, a position he has held since 1974.

Judd has served two terms as president and now chairs the foundation’s Nomination Committee.

A past president and current member of the Michigan Lumber and Building Materials Association (MLBMA), Judd is also a member of Dowagiac Rotary Club.


J. N. Patel, MD



Dr. Patel joined the SMC Foundation Board in 1992 and has held the position of foundation president for two non-concurrent terms.

Retiring from Borgess-Lee Memorial Hospital in 2012, Dr. Patel holds the Borgess-Lee Memorial Hospital Medical Staff Honoree Member distinction.

He is president of the Cass County Medical Society and a member of the State of Michigan Medical Society.






Scarpone is a volunteer at Fernwood Botanical Garden and Nature Preserve.

She joined the SMC Foundation Board in 2006 and sits on the Friends and Fundraising Committee.


Other members of the SMC Foundation Board:

Susan Coulston, Niles

Virginia (Ginny) Crawford, Edwardsburg

Dustin Dalton, Dowagiac

Judge Susan Dobrich

Don France, Marcellus

Todd Franklin, Dowagiac

Ron Gunn, Dowagiac

Robert Habicht, Edwardsburg

Tom Jerdon, Dowagiac

Duke Jones, Cassopolis

Robert Kowalewski, Edwardsburg

Dr. David Mathews, Dowagiac

Michael O’Neil, Buchanan

Patricia Patano, Dowagiac

Eileen M. Toney, Cassopolis

William White, Jones



By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks