Dowagiac freshman Kourtney Mitchell was named to the Division 2 All-District Softball Team. (Daily News Photo/File)

Archived Story

Mitchell named all-district

Published 6:39pm Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Champion Lakeshore dominated the Division 2 All-District softball team, which was announced Tuesday.

The Lancers, the three-time defending district and two-time defending state champions, landed four players on the squad and had their coach, Denny Dock, named to the squad.

Lakeshore also earned the sportsmanship award.

Niles, which took the Lancers eight innings before falling in the semifinals, had four players selected by the district coaches.

They were outfielder Olivia Jordan, first baseman Sarah Cramer, pitcher Molly VanDeKeere and at-large pick Tala Gentry.

Dowagiac catcher Kourtney Mitchell was also selected.

All-district is the first step in the Division 2 All-State selection process.

Division 2 All-District


Kaitlin Cornwell, Lakeshore

Olivia Jordan, Niles

Sam Taylor, St. Joseph

First base

Sarah Cramer, Niles

Second base

Ashlyn Lieberg, St. Joseph

Third base

Alex Forsythe, Lakeshore


Kourtney Mitchell, Dowagiac

Designated player

Rachael Knapp, St. Joseph


Haley Thibeult, Lakeshore


Megan Hiler, Lakeshore

Molly VanDeKeere, Niles


Tala Gentry, Niles

Sammie Averill, St. Joseph


Denny Dock



By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks