Buchanan’s Travis Johnson nears a pin against Bridgman-New Buffalo’s John Tarnowski in the opening round of the Division 3 Team District at Berrien Springs Wednesday. (Daily Star Photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

Archived Story

Buchanan defends district title

Published 9:47pm Thursday, February 9, 2012

BERRIEN SPRINGS — A pair of lopsided victories helped Buchanan successfully defend its Division 3 Team District championship Thursday night.

The Bucks defeated Bridgman-New Buffalo 67-6 in the opening round and then took out host Berrien Springs 63-12 in the title match.

The Shamrocks reached the finals with a 42-33 victory over Dowagiac.

Berrien Springs picked up both of its victories in the first six bouts — getting a pin at 189-pounds and a forfeit victory at 103.

The Bucks dominated the rest of the match.

Buchanan captured half of the 14 weight classes with a pin. There were only three decisions in the title match.

Earning victories via the pin were Jacob Hurd (119), Colin Wheetley (125), Patrick Wheetley (145), Alex Brown (152), Cody Burkhard (160), Gage Hutchison (215) and Jim DeVlaminck (285).

Jeff Mucha and Dylan Williams received back-to-back forfeits at 135 and 140.

Against Bridgman-New Buffalo, the Bucks picked up five forfeits and earned five wins with pins.

Ending up with two victories on the night for Buchanan were John Johnson, Hurd, Colin Wheetley, Eger, Mucha, Williamson, Patrick Wheetley, Brown, Burkhard, Travis Johnson, Hutchison and DeVlaminck.

Hutchison, the top-ranked 215-pound wrestler in Division 3, remained undefeated. He is now 45-0 and has 150 career victories.

Buchanan will now compete in the Division 3 Team Regional Wednesday at Delton-Kellogg against the Battle Creek-Pennfield champion. The other half of the bracket is made up of the Paw Paw and Hopkins district winners.

Division 3 Team Wrestling

At Berrien Springs




103: Bryace Albers (BS) wins by forfeit

112: John Johnson (BU) d. Jesse Cleveland, 7-4

119: Jacob Hurd (BU) p. Yvonne Wells, 2:27

125: Colin Wheetley (BU) p. Cameron McCray, 0:27

130: Alex Eger (BU) d. Chris Rodgers, 8-1

135: Jeff Mucha (BU) wins by forfeit

140: Dylan Williams (BU) wins by forfeit

145: Patrick Wheetley (BU) p. Thomas Teed, 1:40

152: Alex Brown (BU) p. Ricardo Flores, 3:33

160: Cody Burkhard (BU) p. Corey Leach, 1:09

171: Travis Johnson (BU) d. Levi Davis, 4-2

189: Ethan Rogers (BS) p. Austin Hartz, 2:41

215: Gage Hutchison (BU) p. Marco Perez, 1:07

285: Jim DeVlaminck (BU) p. Nicholas Daily, 4:27




103: Bryce Albers (BS) wins by forfeit

112: Jesse Cleveland (BS) wins by forfeit

119: Jacob Worthington (D) p. Cameron McCray, 0:27

125: Yvonne Wells (BS) wins by forfeit

130: Matt Lyle (D) d. Chris Rodgers, 7-5

135: Caleb Zimmeran (D) wins by forfeit

140: Caleb Sands (D) wins by forfeit

145: Aubrey Huston (D) p. Thomas Teed, 1:12

152: Tom Smith (D) d. Jacob Peasley, 7-5

160: Corey Leach (BS) p. John Lindemuller, 1:22

171: Daniel Crandall (D) d. Levi Davis, 7-1

189: Ethan Rogers (BS) wins by forfeit

215: Arlando Lopez (BS) p. Xavier Marquart, 3:23

285: Nicholas Daily (BS) wins by forfeit

Bridgman/New Buffalo…6


103: Double void

112: John Johnson (BU) d. Jarrett Anderson, 7-6

119: Colin Wheetley (BU) d. Chris Rotondo, 10-1

125: Jacob Hurd (BU) p. David Lenardson, 0:57

130: Alex Eger (BU) wins by forfeit

135: Jeff Mucha (BU) wins by forfeit

140: Dylan Williamson (BU) wins by forfeit

145: Patrick Wheetley (BU) wins by forfeit

152: Alex Brown (BU) p. Toby Smith, 0:38

160: Cody Burkhard (BU) p. Alex Pratt, 2:17

171: Travis Johnson (BU) p. John Tarnowski, 5:34

189: Josh Long (B-NB) p. Dan Risener, 3:44

215: Gage Hutchison (BU) wins by forfeit

285: Jim DeVlaminck (BU) p. Rich Nekvasil, 1:39

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks