Archived Story

Finalists announced for Wuerffel Trophy

Published 9:48am Thursday, November 12, 2009

FORTH WALTON BEACH, Fla. – Western Michigan’s Tim Hiller, Michigan State’s Blair White, Michigan’s Zoltan Mesko and Central Michigan’s Dan LeFevour have been named among the 12 finalists for the All Sports Association Wuerffel Trophy.

Other finalists were Mike Nixon, Arizona State; Christian Ponder, Florida State; Andrew Brewer, Northwestern; Andrew Sendejo, Rice; Dominique Harris, Temple; Jordan Shipley, Texas; Zane Beadles, Utah; and Reed Williams, West Virginia.

The national award that honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

The award was named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel.
“The membership of the All Sports Association is excited and proud of the Wuerffel finalists presented in this year’s class,” commented All Sports President Robert McEachern.

The 2009 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented at the All Sports Association’s 41th Annual Awards Banquet on Feb. 19, 2010.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks