Edwardsburg's Josh Clark captured the boys' Lakeland Conference championship. (Photo by Tom Nyhuis)
Edwardsburg's Josh Clark captured the boys' Lakeland Conference championship. (Photo by Tom Nyhuis)

Archived Story

Buchanan wins fourth straight cross country title

Published 4:06pm Wednesday, October 28, 2009

COLOMA – It was another close win for the Lady Bucks on a overcast Monday afternoon in Coloma, the site of the 2009 Lakeland Conference Cross Country meet.

Buchanan edged out Berrien Springs 36-38 to take the outright league title for their fourth straight year.

The Lady Bucks were anchored by seniors Torrie Eger and Elizabeth Hein running in their final conference race. The two veteran runners didn’t let coach Hipshear and the rest of the team down with Eger taking her third conference win, out distancing all the other runners with a time of 20:40.5.

Hein finished fourth with a time of 21:54.2.

Berrien Springs had runners Jessica Nave (20:58.9), Mandy Piedt (21:13.6), and Kelsey Lewis (21:49.8) place second, third and fourth. Their next two runners crossed in 13th and 16th to fall two points behind the Lady Bucks.

Coloma finished third with a team score of 75 with Edwardsburg coming in fourth with a score of 88. Bridgman was fifth with 118 and Brandywine finished sixth with a team score of 181.

In boys action, Edwardsburg’s Josh Clark captured the individual championship with a time of 16:49.4 but it was Bridgman taking the team title with a score of 22 points out distancing the Eddies who finished second with 56 points.

Buchanan ended the day with a third place finish with 62 led by senior Rick Reith’s ninth place finish in a time of 18:50.8.

Lakeland Conference
Cross Country Meet
At Coloma
Girls team scores

1. Buchanan 36, 2. Berrien Springs 38, 3. Coloma 75, 4. Edwardsburg 88, 5. Bridgman 118, 6. Brandywine 181

Top 10
1. Torrie Eger (BU) 20:40, 2. Jessica Nave (BS) 20:58, 3. Mandy Piedt (BS) 21:13, 4. Kelsey Lewis (BS) 21:49, 5. Elizabeth Hein (BU) 21:54, 6. Stephanie Reith (BU) 22:20, 7. Monica Harris (C) 22:25, 8. Lindsay Ward (E) 22:41, 9. Shannen Green (BU) 22:47, 10. Becca Guntz (C) 22:57

Boys team scores
1. Bridgman 22, 2. Edwardsburg 56, 3. Buchanan 62, 4. Berrien Springs 116, 5. Brandywine 131, 6. Coloma 159

Top 10
1. Josh Clark (E) 16:49, 2. Mark Haukereid (BR) 16:55, 3. Cameron Magro (BR) 17:04, 4. Conner Magro (BR) 17:23, 5. Zak Eggleston (E) 17:50, 6. Jarret Anderson (BR) 18:04, 7. Justin Kiewel (BR) 18:26, 8. Jake Malsch (BR) 18:39, 9. Rick Reith (BU) 18:50, 10. Carston McCarty (BU) 18:54

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks