Archived Story

Gull Lake wins Wolverine tennis title

Published 8:49am Tuesday, October 6, 2009

OTSEGO – For the first time since 2000, Allegan is not the Wolverine Conference tennis champion.

The Tigers were unseated by Gull Lake Monday afternoon as the tournament was held after being postponed on Saturday due to rain.

The Blue Devils captured six of the eight championship flight to amass 68 points to defeat the Tigers by seven points.

Otsego finished third, Vicksburg fourth and Plainwell fifth. Dowagiac finished ninth with 10 points.

Allegan’s lone championship came at No. 2 singles where Sascha Heenemann defeated Paw Paw’s Jordan Nelson in straight sets.

Dowagiac’s Chris Craft lost his opening round match against Joey Osbon in straight sets at No. 1 singles, as did Joey Gajewski at No. 2 singles. At No. 3 singles, Amarpal Sarao lost in three sets to Dyan Hough of Three Rivers.

Dowagiac defaulted at No. 4 singles.

At No. 1 doubles, Mike McClanahan and Aaron Blaske were 0-2 on the day, while at No. 2 doubles, Jon Robinson and Dylan Chorba defeated Sam Linstrom and David Wondergem of South Haven before falling in its next two matches.

Spencer Dodd and Marc Tyrakowski and Ben Thompson and Josh Brosnan bother were defeated in their opening round matches.

Gull Lake and Allegan dominated the final round, as only four other schools managed to have a player or a doubles team advance to the championship match.

Wolverine Conference Tennis Tournament
Team scores

1. Gull Lake 68, 2. Allegan 61, 3. Otsego 51, 4. Vicksburg 43, 5. Plainwell 42, 6. Paw Paw 39, 7. Three Rivers 29, 8. South Haven 16, 9. Dowagiac 10.

Championship Round

1. Greg Andrews (GL) d. Seth Arthur (A) 6-0, 6-0; 2. Sascha Heenemann (A) d. Jordan Nelson (PP) 6-0, 6-0 3. Joe Walbridge (GL) d. Jay Pound (V) 6-4, 6-3; 4. Max Wittenburg (GL) d. Jesse DeBoer (A) 7-5, 6-4

1. Nate Tibbitts/Luke Jeffries (A) d. Jake Hoisington/Cody Jaspers (PL) 6-1, 6-2; 2. Lucas Hickman/Mitchell Hickman (GL) d. Matt Madden/Taylor Robinson (A) 7-5, 6-2 3. Ryan Knapper/David Sutherland (GL) d. Tim Ruesink/Zach Radcliffe (O) 6-2, 7-5 4. Russell Hall/Joe Kuesch  (GL) d. Calvin Woodard/Mason English  (A) 6-4, 6-2

Wolverine Conference Tennis Final Standings
1. Gull Lake; 2. Allegan; 3. Otsego; 4. Plainwell; 5. Vicksburg; 6. Paw Paw; 7. Three Rivers; 8. South Haven; 9. Dowagiac

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks