Turner, Highsmith win All-Sports Award

Dowagiac Athletic Booster Club All-Sports Award winners Dontel Highsmith and Kristyn Turner are seen here with Northern Illinois men’s basketball coach Mark Montgomery, far left, and Fox 28 sportscaster Allison Hayes, second from right. (Leader photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

Dowagiac Athletic Booster Club All-Sports Award winners Dontel Highsmith and Kristyn Turner are seen here with Northern Illinois men’s basketball coach Mark Montgomery, far left, and Fox 28 sportscaster Allison Hayes, second from right. (Leader photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

Seniors Kristyn Turner and Dontel Highsmith captured the girls and boys All-Sports Awards at the 64th annual Dowagiac Athletic Booster Club All-Sports Banquet Thursday night.

Turner also won the varsity softball award, while Highsmith won the varsity basketball and boys track awards.

Turner played softball and basketball for four years, while she also played volleyball for three seasons before switching to golf her senior year. She joins her aunts Cathy Turner and Julie Ruff as an All-Sports Award winner.

She will attend Central Michigan University on a full academic scholarship.

Highsmith, who led the Chieftains to the Class B final four as a sophomore, holds the school record for points scored in his career. He played basketball for four years, ran track for three years and played football for two seasons.

In all, 42 student-athletes were honored for their varsity participation in sports during the 2012-13 season.

Amanda Hassle, Matt Lyle, Hollie Olson and Maggie Cripe received the Athletic Booster Club scholarships, while D.J. Hunt, Joey Pasternak, Rachel Bailey, Jordan Juday and Paul Lamphere were awarded the Chieftain Golf Outing scholarships.

Haley Smith won the Dick Dorgan Memorial Scholarship, Cal Cox won the Larry Cox Memorial Scholarship and Brooke Parritt won the Leon Dodd Commemorative Award.

Cox also won the Bryan Frazier Memorial Scholarship.

DeYonte Sullivan and Alyssa Allen were selected as the outstanding freshmen.

FOX 28’s award-winning sportscaster Allison Hayes served as the host for the evening.

Northern Illinois University men’s basketball coach Mark Montgomery was the principal speaker.


64th annual All-Sports Banquet

Award winners

Boys soccer – Joey Pasternak

Boys cross country – Benjamin Thompson

Girls gross country – Holly Luth

Boys golf – Jordan Juday

Boys JV golf – Jeremiah Guernsey

Girls varsity basketball – Ciera Smith

Girls JV basketball – Leela Smith-Ferrier

Varsity football – Brett Scanlon

JV football – Bryce Dodd

Cheerleading – Paige Charles

JV cheerleading – Alyssa Casey

Boys varsity basketball – Dontel Highsmith

Boys JV basketball – Keoante’ Blackamore

Varsity volleyball – Katelyn Dantone

JV volleyball – Mary Magin

Wrestling – Matt Lyle, Tristan Howard

JV wrestling – Sean Thompson

Girls golf – Haley Smith

Varsity softball – Kristyn Turner

JV softball – McKinzie Kiggins

Varsity baseball – Cal Cox

JV baseball – Daquan Brooks

Girls track – Nijah Russell

Boys track – Dontel Highsmith

Girls soccer – Brooke Parritt

Girls tennis – Sydney Foote

Girls JV tennis – Genesis Avila, Han Tsai

Boys tennis – Marc Tyrakowski

Outstanding freshman female – Alyssa Allen

Outstanding freshman male – DeYonte Sullivan

Sportsmanship male – Todd McIntyre

All-Sports female – Kristyn Turner

All-Sports male – Dontel Highsmith

Athletic Booster Club Scholarship – Amanda Hassle, Matt Lyle, Hollie Olson, Maggie Cripe

Chieftain Gold Outing Scholarship – D.J. Hunt, Joey Pasternak, Rachel Bailey, Jordan Juday, Paul Lamphere

Dick Dorgan Scholarship – Haley Smith

Larry Cox Scholarship – Cal Cox

Leon Dodd Commemorative Award – Brooke Parritt

Bryan Frazier Scholarship – Cal Cox

Fall Sportsmanship male – Josh Lamphere

Fall Sportsmanship female – McKinzie Kiggins

Winter Sportsmanship male – DeYonte Sullivan

Winter Sportsmanship female – Olga Dickson-French

Spring Sportsmanship male – Aubrey Huston

Springs Sportsmanship female – Kourtney Mitchell

Berrien County

OutCenter announces 2024 PrideFest events

Community News

Kirra Halfman crowned Miss Edwardsburg 2024


Tin Shop Theatre’s ‘GAME SHOW’ to provide immersive audience experience


Edwardsburg Sports Complex fundraiser campaign underway


Two injured in two-vehicle Calvin Township crash


A passion for fashion: Goddess of the Moon Leatherworks opens in Buchanan

Berrien County

Berrien County Commissioners honor retiring Sheriff Bailey


New Dowagiac fire station breaks ground

Cass County

Niles man injured in single vehicle Howard Township Crash

Community News

Soup Luncheon results in record donation to Fitch Camp


Honor Credit Union donates $1,000 to Dowagiac Fire Department’s Toys for Tots Drive


United Federal Credit Union names Andrea Moreaux Branch Manager in Niles

Community News

Honor Credit Union donates $750 to Shop With A Hero program


Area woman gets prison time for Niles Township break-in

Berrien County

Four Winds team members raise $15,000 for Berrien County Suicide Prevention

Community News

Local girl receives Certificate of Bravery from Wayne Township Fire Department


Niles murder suspect gets trial date


Buchanan small business incubator to host grand opening Dec. 14

Community News

Niles History Center to host holiday open house Dec. 16


Efforts to recall Buchanan mayor continue


Buchanan man gets prison time for Harding’s theft

Cass County

Cass County finance department receives highest rating from national organization

Cass County

Mishawaka man gets probation for drunk driving


Evart man sentenced to restitution for Newberg Township vehicle theft