Eddies become first four-time winner of the Leader Cup

Published 8:25 am Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

BUCHANAN — History was made at Orchard Hills Country Club as the Edwardsburg golf team became the first four-time winner of the Leader Cup Monday.

The Eddies finished three strokes better than defending champion Cassopolis, which was trying to join Edwardsburg and Niles in winning back-to-back titles.

The Eddies, led by Andrew Kurowski, Joseph Spivey, Maverick Gates and Michael Wright shot 152. The pairings of Kurowski and Spivey, as well as Gates and Wright, both finished with rounds of 76.

Edwardsburg’s Carson Baker and Cody Schaap finished with an 81.

“I first want to say thank you to Leader Publications for sponsoring such a great event, which has grown into a tradition with the participating schools,” said Edwardsburg Coach Jeff Kozinski.  “I also want to say thank you to the staff at Orchard Hills Country Club. They always have the course in great shape for the tournament.”

Kozinski said his team executed their goals set for the tournament.

“I was very pleased with the way our players stuck to the game plan today,” he said. “Michael Wright and Maverick Gates got off to a great start and were able to finish with a 5-over 76 partner total today. Andrew Kurowski and Joe Shively were steady throughout the day to also bring in a 5-over 76. We came in today wanting to take home the Leader Cup traveling trophy. We knew Cassopolis wasn’t going to give it to us.  We also knew Niles, Dowagiac, Buchanan, and Brandywine were going to put up a fight.”

The Rangers finished with a 155.

Medalists William Westrate and Turner Westrate shot 74 in the Ryder Cup-style format of nine holes of best ball and nine holes of captain’s choice.

Alan Wegner and Dickson Samadder and Kenny May and Trystan Grant both finished with an 81

Niles, the event’s only other three-time winner, finished third with a 160. Dowagiac was fourth with a 171, Buchanan fifth with a 186 and Brandywine sixth with a 191.

Dowagiac was led by Travis Rehbort and Jeremiah Bond, who shot 85. The brother duo of Dane and Luke Spagnoli finished with an 86, while Cayden Dorman and Ashton Scherer shot 101.

Austin Gregory and Jacob Kuntz finished with an 87 to lead Buchanan. The Bucks also got a 99 from Dean Wegner and Tyler Miller, while Tyler Frame and Carson Shelton shot 101.

Xander Curtis and Brady Wright led the Bobcats with a 92. Duane Thompson and Drew Deming finished with a 99. The brother duo of Brock and Conner Dye shot 100.

Kozinski and his team already have their sights set on another championship.

“We had to earn it. It came down to the wire and we were able to finish the job,” he said. “It was brought to my attention that Edwardsburg is the first four-time winner of the Leader Cup.  It is a great honor to have the Cup for another year. Each player will be able to take the trophy home for a couple of days to enjoy the Leader Cup Tournament tradition. We look forward to coming back again next season.”