Local players earn Division 2 All-District, All-Academic honors

Published 11:29 pm Wednesday, June 15, 2022

NILES — Division 2 District champion Berrien Springs had three players and its coach earned All-District honors.

District host Edwardsburg had four players earn all-district, which is the first step toward earning Michigan High School Baseball Coaches Association All-State honors.

Defending district champion Lakeshore led the team with five selections.

Earning Division 2 All-District from Berrien Springs were Brandon Haygood (first base), Tyler Ewalt (infield) and Garrett Brewer (pitcher).

The Shamrocks’ Kory Martin was named Coach of the Year.

Edwardsburg players to earn all-district were Landon Mikel (catcher), Connor Ostrander (infield), Logan McColley (outfield) and Payton Bookwalter (utility player).

Earning Division 2 District All-Academic honors were Edwardsburg’s Brendon Seabolt and Ostrander. Niles’ Gage Vota and Austin Bradley were also selected all-academic, as were Berrien Springs’ Jacob Haygood and Ewalt.


Austin Bradley, Niles

Gage Vota, Niles

Division 2 All-District


Landon Mikel, Edwardsburg

Blake Smith, Parchment

Alec Wojahn, Lakeshore


First Base

Brendan Burch, Plainwell

Brandon Haygood, Berrien Springs



Connor Ostrander, Edwardsburg

Tyler Ewalt, Berrien Springs

Tyler DeVries, Vicksburg

Luke Kolessar Lakeshore

Landon DeVaney, Plainwell

Zach Warren, Lakeshore



Trevor Griffiths, Lakeshore

Cole Dean, Parchment

Logan McColley, Edwardsburg

Ryan Kolessar, Lakeshore

David Hamilton, Plainwell

Will Kovi, Parchment


Utility Player

Payton Bookwalter, Edwardsburg



Aaron Jasiak, Parchment

Cole Gebben, Vicksburg

Noah Chase, Lakeshore

Garrett Brewer, Berrien Springs

Liam Stephanson, Plainwell


Coach of the Year

Kory Martin, Berrien Springs

Brian Deal, Vicksburg