Guernsey wins LJGA tour stop

PAW PAW — Dowagiac’s Becca Guernsey won a playoff against Isabella Peterson of Granger, Indiana, to win the Lakeshore Junior Golf Association Tour stop at Lake Cora near Paw Paw last Thursday.

Guernsey and Peterson both shot 100 to top the Girls 13-15 Division.

Annika Steinke, of Lawton, finished third with a 101.

In the Girls 16-18 Division, Olivia Cramer, of Lawton, shot 8-2 to edge Gracie Thomas, of St. Joseph, who shot 84. Dowagiac’s Greta Whitaker, who already has a tour victory to her credit, shot 91 to finish fourth.

Calley Ruff, of Dowagiac, finished ninth with a score of 97.

Joey Barry of St. Joseph won the Boys Junior Division with a 95, while Heidi Hines won the Girls Collegiate Division with a 91.

Nick Brausch, of Paw Paw, won the Boys Collegiate Division with a 74. Dowagiac’s Jeremiah Guernsey was second with an 89.

The Boys 16-18 Division title went to Landen Thompson, of  Baroda, with a round of 89. Dowagiac’s John Bontrager shot 107.

The Boys 13-15 Division champion was Charlie Uzelac, of St. Joseph, who shot 87. Dowagiac’s Abraham Guernsey shot 110.

At the tour stop in Watervliet at Paw Paw Lake, Cassopolis’ Alan Wegner won the Boys Junior Division with a score of 82.

Becca Guernsey lost in a playoff to Justine Steinke of Lawton.


Lakeshore Junior Golf 

Association Tour

At Paw Paw Lake, Watervliet

Boys Junior Division

Alan Wegner, Cassopolis 82

Joey Berry, St. Joseph 88


Boys 13-15 Division

Charlie Uzelac, St. Joseph 91

Jacob Marohn, Stevensville 98

Chris Lepenoitis, St. Joseph 102

J.R. Scott, St. Joseph 106

Andrew Lepenoitis, St. Joseph 108

Abraham Guernsey, Dowagiac 116


Girls 13-15 Division 

  • Justine Steinke, Lawton 105

Becca Guernsey, Dowagiac 105

Clara Berry, St. Joseph 106

Morgan Guzzo, St. Joseph 109

Margaret Cox, St. Joseph 112

Annika Steinke, St. Joseph 112

Samantha Bocock, South Haven 141

  • Won in playoff


Lake Cora, Paw Paw

Boys Junior Division

Joey Barry, St. Joseph 95

Nolan Adent, St. Joseph 98


Girls Collegiate Division 

Heidi Hines, Three Rivers/University of Iowa 91

Rachel Webb, Sturgis/Olivet College 92


Boys Collegiate Division 

Nick Brausch, Paw Paw 74

Jeremiah Guernsey, Dowagiac 89


Boys 16-18 Division

Landen Thompson, Baroda 89

  • Parker Manning, Watervliet, 92

James Gooding, Stevensville, 92

John Bontrager, Dowagiac 107

  • Decided by playoff


Boys 13-15 Division

Charlie Uzelac, St. Joseph 87

Jacob Marohn, Stevensville, 88

Dylan Waters, St. Joseph 89

J.R. Scott, St. Joseph 109

Abraham Guernsey, Dowagiac 110

Jacob Martinez, Lawton 119


Girls 13-15 Division

  • Becca Guernsey, Dowagiac 100

Isabella Peterson, Granger, Indiana 100

Annika Steinke, Lawton 101

Justine Steinke, Lawton 102

Marley Waters, St. Joseph 103

Clara Berry, St. Joseph 108

Taylor Little, Granger 111

  • Won in playoff


Girls 16-18 Division 

Olivia Cramer, Lawton 82

Gracie Thomas, St. Joseph 84

Maya Hunter, St. Joseph 87

Greta Whitaker, Dowagiac 91

Maddie Cleveland, St. Joseph 93

Emma Franklin, Allegan 93

Sydney Barnes, South Haven 93

Jayley Zeimet, Three Rivers 84

Calley Ruff, Dowagiac 97

Kate Cudney, Mattawan 97

Madisen Percival, Sturgis 99

Abby Bocock, South Haven 102

Jenna Ridley, South Haven 102

Allie Cudney, Mattawan 105

Results provided by Lakeshore JGA


Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan sees 117,406 cases, 6,665 deaths


Dowagiac City Council authorizes loans for sanitary sewer improvements


Local organization hosts voter registration, cookout

Berrien County

Michigan Works! announces support for front line workers


Sept. 21 Dowagiac weather report

Berrien County

Michigan Teen Safe Driving program enters 10th year

Berrien County

Free virtual cancer symposium open to providers, public


Niles Community Schools’ remote platform allows students to go at own pace


Dowagiac business donates backpacks, school supplies to students in need


Miss Cassopolis Scholarship Program hosting school supply drive

Berrien County

Berrien County Health department gets blunt on marijuana education, safety

Cass County

Two Dowagiac men sentenced Friday in Cass County Court

Cass County

Cass County works to expand broadband access


Ontwa Township passes 2.25 percent millage increase

Berrien County

Local talent development leader honored by Michigan Works! Association


Cassopolis awards preliminary marijuana licenses


Niles police chief looks forward to continuing work with city, two departments

Cass County

North Pointe Center class partners with church for cemetery cleanup project

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan sees 113,863 cases, 6,623 deaths


Cass County to partake in annual Crop Hunger Walk

Brandywine Education

Performing Arts Workshops launches memorial fundraising campaign


Court of Appeals rules secretary Benson acted lawfully in mailing absentee voter ballot applications to registered voters


SMC welcomes new dean of business, advanced technology


Dowagiac Elks to host annual Guys & Dolls Golf Outing