BCS tennis coaches appreciate the honor

Published 9:00 am Thursday, May 14, 2020

NILES — Perennial Division 4 tennis powerhouse Brandywine was looking forward to improving on last year’s top 10 finish at the state tennis finals.

Unfortunately for the Bobcats and their six seniors, they will not get a chance to make a run at another BCS Athletic Conference championship, Division 4 regional championship or a spot in the state finals as the COVID-19 pandemic canceled spring sports in the state of Michigan.

First-year Buchanan coach Rachel English was looking forward to taking over the program from Erin Krakty.

The seniors on those two teams will have to accept being named first-team all-conference by the BCS instead.

“I think it is a good way to recognize the seniors for their past contributions to their sport and school,” said Brandywine coach Joe Marazita. “Brandywine’s seniors — Megan Schmidt, Kimberly Solloway, Maigon Conrad, Caitlin Stanner, Alysa Marlin, and Carrigan Duffield — have been with coach [Rich] Robbins and myself for four years, so I am sure they will all appreciate the recognition from the BCS Conference. We will both miss the ‘Super Six’ as they are a great group of kids on and off the courts.”

English, an assistant at Buchanan for several years, is also pleased that her seniors are being honored.

“The seniors have lost out on being able to celebrate so many milestones this year,” she said. “I think it’s great that they are able to still get recognition for all of the work they have put into their athletic careers. I was personally really excited to see what my seniors were going to do this year. They were looking strong and ready to accomplish great things. I’m sad they will never be able to finish what they started, but glad they will receive recognition for what they have done.”



First team

Berrien Springs

Jacklyn Alsbro, Joyce Hajaj, Ellen Randrianaina, Venessa Rojo, Melody Ruiz



Megan Schmidt, Kimberly Solloway, Maigon Conrad, Alysa Marlin, Carrigan Duffield, Caitlin Stanner



Ashley Willer, Haley Goff



Natalie Riley, Catherine Lietz, Anna Tobler, Hannah Vergon


Lake Michigan Catholic

Madeleine Johnson, Bailey Siglow


New Buffalo

Leigha Vinson