Abdullah earns fourth all-state honor

NILES — For the first time in Brandywine girls basketball history, the Bobcats have a four-time all-state player.

Senior guard Zakiyyah Abdullah was named second-team Division 3 All-State by the Associated Press last week.

Niles senior guard Alycia Patterson and Edwardsburg senior guard Claire Bartz were honorable mention selections in Division 2.

Abdullah, who helped lead the Bobcats to an 86-13 record the past four years, averaged 13.3 points per game, dished out 3.9 assists per game and grabbed 2.8 rebounds. During her four years, Brandywine won a BCS Athletic Conference Red Division championship, four district titles and one regional championship.

“Zakiyyah has had a remarkable high school career,” said Brandywine coach Josh Hood. “She becomes the first four-time all-state basketball player in the history of Brandywine High School. Zakiyyah has represented our school and program with nothing but class and graduates as the second-leading scorer in school history.”

Bartz led Edwardsburg to four straight Wolverine Conference championships, along with back-to-back district titles. She averaged 13.9 points per game this season. That was third-best in southwest Michigan.

Patterson became the Vikings’ all-time leading scorer in her final regular-season basketball games. She surpassed Sarah Dreher Workman with 1,207 points. She averaged an area-best 17.8 points per game.

Academic all-state

A pair of local teams earned Division 2 Academic All-State from the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan.

Dowagiac and Edwardsburg both earned honorable mention with GPAs of 3.504 and 3.30, respectively.

Division 3

Second-team All-State

Zakiyyah Abdullah, Niles Brandywine, Sr.

Claycee West, White Pigeon, Sr.

Tessa Leece, Ishpeming Westwood, Sr.

Abrie Cabana, Grass Lake, Jr.

Coach of the Year

Lindsay Noble, Royal Oak Shrine

Honorable mention

Jayd Hovey, Hart; Taylor Folkema, Western Michigan Christian; Jenna Harrison, Kent City; Lauren Laures, Pinconning; Alexys Carlstrom, Harrison; Regan Finkbeiner, Hemlock; Regan Rose, Decatur; Kallie Harrison, Bloomingdale; Joanna Larsen, Centreville; Krystina Kasson, Kalamazoo Hackett; Madelyn Koski, Ishpeming Westwood; Emily Nelson, West Iron County; Melanie Moore, Madison Heights Bishop Foley; Sabrina Gottschalk, Rochester Hills Lutheran Northwest; Maddi Osantowski, Reese; Gwen Rogozinski, Stockbridge; Alyssa Welsh, Perry; Jaden Wilder, Manton; Abby Brown, Manton; Jayden Weber, East Jordan; Addie Nagel, Charlevoix; Taylor Petrosky, Charlevoix; Makayla Clement, Byron; Kaiden Glenn, Ypsilanti Arbor Prep; Kristina Peach, Whitmore Lake; Carly Anschuetz, Adrian Madison; Coryne Howard, Fennville; Macy Bisbale, Houghton Lake; Sydney Peake, Hemlock; Emma Belles, Ithaca; Sam Vermeesch, Ithaca; Madison Travis, Farwell; Brooke Brauher, Morley-Stanwood; Lexus Bargesser, Grass Lake; Cat Carroll, Jackson Lumen Christi; Gabrielle Lutchka, Grass Lake; Alex Maher, Springport; Kara Mahoney, Laingsburg; Shealyn Tripp, Michigan Center; Ashlyn Wilkes, Vermontville Maple Valley; Brooke Wenzlick, New Lothrop

Division 2

Honorable mention

Abi Tarrant, Bay City John Glenn; Lexi Boyke, Frankenmuth; Kali Heivilin, Three Rivers; Alison Bishop, Allegan; Emaia O’Brien, Harper Woods Chandler Park; Eshawanda Smith, Detroit Denby; McKenna Bent, Comstock Park; Emma Witte, Grand Rapids Christian; Faith Mulder, Holland Christian; Sydney Vis, Grand Rapids South Christian; Katie Tate, Grand Rapids Catholic Central; Stephanie Ainsworth, Wayland; Trayana Starr-Thurman, Kelloggsville; Kayla Giroux, Flat Rock; Hadley Gratz, Carleton Airport; Mya Hiram, Onsted; Alycia Patterson, Niles; Claire Bartz, Edwardsburg; Jaxi Long, Newaygo; Brittany Bowman, Kingsley; Makenna Bryant, Cadillac; Margaret Stosio, Kalkaska; Ashley Bower, Portland; Ellie Toney, Corunna; Megan Crow, Gladstone; Julia Beaumont, Sault Ste. Marie; Adelyn Moore, Caro; Lily Connelly, Croswell-Lexington; Alex Long, Flushing; Caroline Vance, Flint Powers; Gabby Fogarty, Marysville; Morgan McConnell, Marine City; Taylor Sas, Saginaw Swan Valley; Carly McCrum, Bay City John Glenn; Macey Fegan, Standish-Sterling; Bailey Taylor, Clare; Catarina Juarez, Bridgeport; Zoey Pearsails, Frankenmuth; Sidnee Struck, Chesaning; Alyssa Leister, Alma; Annaliese Lamontange, St. Clair; Christina Bohm, St. Clair; Lauren Barton, Ovid-Elsie; Lauren Hanes, Lansing Catholic; Peyton Benjamin, Eaton Rapids; Taylor Kirby, Ionia; Olivia Green, Haslett; Lyndsey Kelley, Manistee; Hillary Griffin, Parma Western