Cass’ Gatson, Drews, Johnson earn all-league honors

CASSOPOLIS — Southwest 10 Conference runner-up Marcellus led the all-league boys basketball team with a pair of first-team picks, while co-champions Cassopolis and Centreville each had one player selected.

Overall, Cassopolis landed just three players on the three levels of the all-conference team.

Darrion Gatson, who led southwest Michigan in scoring with an average of 20.2 points per game, was a first-team selection, while sophomore R.J. Drews and Jerry Johnson were second-team picks.

Marcellus’ Kaeler Stafne and Gavin Etter were named first team. Brady Ferguson and Carson Sumners were both honorable mention selections.

Decatur also had a first-team pick in Ben Cerven. He was the lone Raider named to the team.

Eau Claire’s Marquis Hackney was a first-team pick. Damarion Travis was named second team for the Beavers, while Terrance Murphy and Karmelo Taylor were honorable mention picks.


All-Southwest 10 boys basketball

First team

Kaeler Stafne (Sr.), Marcellus

Gavin Etter (Jr.), Marcellus

Darrion Gatson (Sr.), Cassopolis

Tyler Starbuck (Sr.), Bloomingdale

Sam Todd (Jr.), Centreville

Aaron Sinclair (Jr.), Hartford

Ben Cerven (Sr.), Decatur

Marquis Hackney (Sr.), Eau Claire

Second team

Dustin Schwenk (Sr.), Centreville

Derek Gleaton (Sr.), Centreville

Stone Kemp (Sr.), White Pigeon

Chris Jackson (Fr.), White Pigeon

R.J. Drews (Soph.), Cassopolis

Jerry Johnson (Jr.), Cassopolis

Bobby Boyer (Sr.), Bloomingdale

Damarion Travis (Fr.), Eau Claire

Honorable mention

Tyler Swanwick (Soph.), Centreville

Mason Lemings (Soph.), Centreville

Brady Ferguson (Jr), Marcellus

Carson Sumners (Sr), Marcellus

Kaden Johnson (Fr.), Hartford

Elijah Ledesma (Sr.), Hartford

Daniel Jackson (), White Pigeon

Dylan Carper (Soph.), White Pigeon

Terrance Murphy (Jr.), Eau Claire

Karmelo Taylor (Fr.), Eau Claire

Dahntae Bailey (Jr.), Mendon

Dakota Ames (Sr.), Mendon

Carson Fisher (Jr.), Bloomingdale