Dowagiac duo All-Wolverine Conference

DOWAGIAC — Wolverine Conference champion Edwardsburg dominated the all-conference football team with nine selections.

The Eddies landed four players on the offensive side of the squad and five players on the defensive unit.

Kevin Bartz was also named Wolverine Conference Coach of the Year.

First-team selections for the Eddies on offense were running back Chase Sager, quarterback Tre Harvey and offensive linemen Josh Priebe and Ethan Griffin.

On defense, Dylan McColley and Dillon Hursh were first-team selections at linebacker, Sager and Noah Carrico as defensive linemen and Mac Gaideski at defensive back.

Dowagiac had two first-team picks, one on each side of the football.

Chieftain quarterback Cailyn Murphy was named as a skilled position player, while Dylan Hill was selected as a defensive lineman.

“I am proud of the players recognized by the Wolverine coaches as well as the rest of the team,” said Dowagiac coach Mike Stanger. “They worked hard and fought all season.”



First-team offense

Skilled position

• Caden Goggins, Edwardsburg

Jalen Heivlin, Three Rivers

Austin Williams, Plainwell

Chase Sager, Edwardsburg

Bryce Morlan, Three Rivers

Caleb Welch, Vicksburg

Tre Harvey, Edwardsburg

Cailyn Murphy, Dowagiac

Jaylin Fox, South Haven


Skilled position

Isaiah Mitchell, Edwardsburg

Jett Haifley, Three Rivers

Will Eldridge, Otsego

Kurtis Carr, Paw Paw

Jake Conklin, Vicksburg


Offensive linemen

Karsen Barnhart, Paw Paw

Josh Priebe, Edwardsburg

Kyle Rose, Vicksburg

Ethan Griffin, Edwardsburg

Trey Szymanowski, Plainwell


Offensive linemen

Grant Deal, Vicksburg

Gabe Aranda, Dowagiac

Alex Rafael, Otsego

Noah Carrico, Edwardsburg


Bryce Morland, Three Rivers

First-team defense


• Traven VanOss, Three Rivers

Dylan McColley, Edwardsburg

Nate Harden, Paw Paw

Dillon Hursh, Edwardsburg



Drew Bidwell, Edwardsburg

Lamberto Paredes, Dowagiac

Andrew Vorce, Paw Paw


Defensive linemen

Chase Sager, Edwardsburg

Karsen Barnhart, Paw Paw

Dylan Hill earned first-team All-Wolverine Conference as a defensive lineman. (Leader photo/File)

Dylan Hill, Dowagiac

Noach Carrico, Edwardsburg

Ryan Mills, Three Rivers

Gunner Gavalis, Plainwell


Defensive linemen

Devon Gidley, Three Rivers

Caleb DeKyger, Allegan

Gabe Green, Dowagiac


Defensive backs

Mac Gaideski, Edwardsburg

Nolan Mark, Three Rivers

Jake Mathney, Paw Paw

Gavin Charvat, Three Rivers


Defensive backs

Conner Nelson, Edwardsburg

Curtis Carr, Paw Paw

Will Eldred, Otsego


Bryce Morland, Three Rivers

Coach of the Year

Kevin Bartz, Edwardsburg

Honorable mention


Andrew McIntosh, Kade Schreiber, Cody Dorman, Nico Linares


Bryce Blue, Joe Metzger, Alex Pilarski

• Denotes captain


Shane Earl, Chase Myers

Three Rivers

Billy Wagner, Josh Draper, Hunter Stewart


Bryce Marshall, Nolan Evers, Rylan Betts


Jayden Smith, Logan Abraham, Zak Foster

South Haven

Jared Hentschel, Brendon Petty

Paw Paw

Augi Sylvester, Dylon Antles, Nolan Beck


Owen Watson, Nathaniel Barwegen, Jaxsen Callaway


Logan Cleveland, Jacob Warner, Christian Rooyakkers

Berrien County

Niles restaurant receives community support for refusing to close indoor dining

Cass County

Teen dead following US-12 crash


PHOTO STORY: Ice sculptures draw visitors to downtown Niles


Dowagiac resident marks centennial birthday

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 533,602 cases, 13,701 deaths


Woman of color to lead DUS board


Cassopolis organization to host virtual MLK Jr. Day celebration

Berrien County

Community partners come together for Martin Luther King Jr. Day


Dr. T.K. Lawless International Dark Sky Park releases 2021 stargazing schedule


Edwardsburg Public Schools accepting nominations for 2021-2022 Hall of Fame


Riverfront accommodations coming to downtown Niles

Berrien County

Family, friends of victim respond to release of convicted murderer

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Cass, Van Buren counties report new COVID-19 deaths

Cass County

Cass County 4-H encourages seniors to apply for scholarship

Berrien County

New virus strain, vaccines take center stage of Berrien County Health Department update


Small Shops to debut at The Grand LV this weekend

Brandywine Education

Haunted house to donate scholarships to area seniors


One-third of Virtual Vikings to return to classrooms second semester


Brent Brewer appointed to DUS school board


Niles yoga instructor offering outdoor winter session Sunday

Berrien County

Fitness organizations gear up for reopening of indoor activities


SMC mourns former college president

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 528,306 cases, 13,533 deaths

Breaking News

Niles man convicted of murdering girlfriend will be released from prison Thursday