Runner-up Dowagiac lands four on All-Wolverine Conference team

DOWAGIAC — Wolverine Conference runner-up Dowagiac had four players named all-conference.

The Chieftains, who finished behind Otsego in the final overall standings, had senior Caleb Murphy named first-team.

“Caleb Murphy has improved a great deal since last season,” said Dowagiac coach Danum Hunt. “His presence on the inside helps to open things up offensively for us. His presence is felt on both the offensive and defensive end of the court. He’s had several games in which his presence allowed us to take off and build bigger leads as well as secure the win. His athleticism allows him to guard any position on the floor.”

Dowagiac’s J.J. Smith and Jamin Hunt were second-team selections.

“Jadyn Smith is a very good defender,” Hunt said. “Even with him being undersized for his position, he is an excellent rebounder. I call him ‘The ball magnet.’ Wherever the ball is you can rest assured that J.J. is somewhere in the vicinity. He does all of the intangibles. The things that don’t show up in the stat sheet or scorebook are the things that Jayden is willing and happy to do those things. He’s really one of the cogs that make our defensive machine run smoothly and efficiently.”

“Jamin Hunt has become a pretty solid leader for us at the point guard position,” Hunt said. “He’s played out of position for two seasons, but yet we count on him to steer the ship for us offensively. He is the most experienced player and knows the Chieftain system really well. His experience helps to keep us organized and playing at a high level offensively. I’m really going to miss his presence and knowledge on the court.”

Sophomore D.J. Lanier was an honorable mention selection, as was Edwardsburg’s Tre Harvey.

“D.J. Lanier has improved and matured since last season,” Hunt said. “I’m excited about the fact that he has two seasons remaining in the Chieftain program. The best is yet to come for this kid. He is emerging into the Chieftain leader.”

Otsego’s Matt Dennis was named Wolverine Conference Coach of the Year.

Edwardsburg’s Tre Harvey was an honorable mention selection.

“He is a natural leader,” said Edwardsburg coach Stephen Weight. “He was voted as captain by his teammates, and consistently lived up to it.  Tre always played hard on both ends of the floor.  I am excited that he was recognized by the coaches.”


First team

Caleb Murphy, Dowagiac

Zak Lucas, Otsego

Charlie Woodhams, Otsego

Luke Tolliver, Paw Paw

Evan Finch, Plainwell

Luke Morrell, Plainwell

Breckon Stewart, Sturgis

Tirrell Hausmanis, Three Rivers

Coach of the Year

Matt Dennis, Otsego

Second team

Caleb DeKryger, Allegan

Jamin Hunt, Dowagiac

J.J. Smith, Dowagiac

Jason Weber, Otsego

Karsen Barnhart, Paw Paw

Isaac Davis, Plainwell

Caleb Ford, South Haven

Thomas Kurowski, Sturgis

Honorable mention

Landon Mielke, Allegan

Zeke Turner, Allegan

D.J. Lanier, Dowagiac

Tre Harvey, Edwardsburg

Addison Atwater, Otsego

Will Eldred, Otsego

Caskadera Smith, South Haven

Drew Murphy, Sturgis

Parker Ellifritz, Three Rivers

Jalen Heivilin, Three Rivers

Garrett Ketelaar, Vicksburg

C.J. Laske, Vicksburg

Berrien County

Two injured at Old U.S. 31 and Ullery

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Berrien County reports additional COVID-19 death


Dowagiac restaurateur arrested on criminal sexual conduct charges


Bike Buchanan pedals last ride of season


Caring Circle Services relocating to Niles


SMC Board of Trustees devotes day to long-range planning

Cass County

Cass County COA celebrates veterans with online photo, story project

Berrien County

Salvation Army seeks volunteers for annual campaign


Buchanan Field of Dreams Dog Park gets 10 new trees


Niles gives marijuana consumption centers the green light

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 164,274 cases, 7,239 deaths


Buchanan commissioners say goodbye to leaders, prepare for future


Dowagiac receives USDA grant

Local Government

City council gives approval of funding for homeless aid, city administrator raise


Dowagiac City Council encourages safe trick-or-treating


Dowagiac Fire Department wins second straight Battle of The Badges blood drive

Berrien County

SMCAS seeks third wheelchair transport van


Dowagiac Middle/Union High School report positive COVID-19 cases

Berrien County

COVID-19 UPDATE: Michigan reports 161,907 cases, 7,211 deaths

Cass County

Lewis Cass ISD superintendent announces retirement


DAR marks grave


Buchanan celebrates ‘Nicest Place in America’ honor Saturday


Honor Credit Union gives back


MDHHS issues Emergency Order updating requirements for residential care facilities to allow for indoor visitation