Brandywine wins 12th straight district title

Published 9:25 am Friday, February 10, 2017

EAU CLAIRE — For the 12th consecutive year and the 19th time in 20 years, the Brandywine Bobcats are the Division 4 team district champion.

The Bobcats, on a night when they only lost six bouts while sweeping Cassopolis and River Valley, still made veteran coach Rex Pomranka nervous.

“No matter the match, I always get nervous,” Pomranka says. “You never know what’s going to happen. Every time we have to fill out 14 slots and go from there. Days like today, you can’t help but be nervous and think about the match coming up.”

Paced by a pin and a decision from senior Sam Burge, the Bobcats coasted to convincing wins over Cassopolis (60-20) in the semifinals and River Valley (69-12) in the finals.

River Valley bested host Eau Claire 30-21 in the other semi-final.

Searra Inman, Mathew Cox, Michael Kuchar and Joshua Jones didn’t have to wrestle at all as they each got two wins a piece by forfeit. Steven Kendall, Marquell Peterson, Garrett Lerner, Jacob Douglass, Aaron Lauri, Jason Lane and Devin Plew all received wins as well throughout the evening.

Cassopolis picked up wins by Johnathan Westphal, Zacharias Wilkins, Dylan Green and Cross Borsa against the Bobcats in the semifinals as they now shift focus to individual districts this Saturday.

The Rangers only had six wrestlers dressed.

With regionals Wednesday at Mendon against Decatur, the winner of the Marcellus district, Pomranka hasn’t looked ahead yet.

“We are taking everything one match at a time,” he said. “This weekend we have individual districts at Cassopolis so we are focusing on that for the rest of the week to get the guys ready. Come Monday we will shift focus to regionals and Decatur.”

A complete box score and more photos can be found online at



At Eau Claire


103: Searra Inman (B) wins by forfeit; 112: Mathew Cox (B) wins by forfeit; 119: Aaron Lauri (B) wins by forfeit; 125: Steven Kendall (B) wins by forfeit; 130: Jason Lane (B) p. Chase Ehlert 1:22; 135: Michael Kachur (B) wins by forfeit; 140: Devin Plew (B) p. Chris Reitz 1:24; 145: Corbin Eckenberger (B) p. Alex Jonas 4:45; 152: Zackary Long (RV) p. Ethan Worrell 0:47; 160: Marquell Peterson (B) p. Jacob Good 3:21; 171: Garrett Lerner (B) p. Billy Long 3:01; 189: Samuel Burge (B) d. Eric Boswell 6-1; 215: Joshua Jones (B) wins by forfeit; 285: Geo Flores (RV) wins by forfeit.




103: Searra Inman (B) wins by forfeit; 112: Mathew Cox (B) wins by forfeit; 119: Johnathan Westphal (C) p. Jason Lane 1:25; 125: Steven Kendall (B) p. Aaron Majewski 1:12; 130: Michael Kachur (B) wins by forfeit; 135: Zacharias Wilkins (C) t.f. over Jacob Kimbrough 5:56; 140: Dylan Green (C) m.d. Devin Plew 10-2; 145: Corbin Eckenberger (B) wins by forfeit; 152: Cross Borsa (C) t.f. over Ethan Worrell 4:00; 160: Marquell Peterson (B) wins by forfeit; 171: Samuel Burge (B) p. Hunter Parsons 3:35; 189: Garrett Lerner (B) wins by forfeit; 215: Joshua Jones (B) wins by forfeit; 285: Jacob Douglass (B) wins by forfeit.