Otsego wins Wolverine Conference golf title

Published 1:21 pm Friday, May 20, 2016

Otsego went wire-to-wire to successfully defend its Wolverine Conference golf title.

The Bulldogs swept all 10 conference jamborees, winning by more and 12 strokes on average.

Otsego was even more dominant at the Wolverine Conference Golf Championship at Hampshire Country Club Thursday, winning by 24 strokes over runner-up Paw Paw. The Bulldogs finished with a 313, while the Redskins shot 337. Plainwell was third with a 344.

Edwardsburg and Dowagiac finished fifth and sixth with scores of 350 and 351 respectively.

Plainwell will finish second in the overall standings with Sturgis placing third. Edwardsburg finishes fourth and Dowagiac seventh.

Otsego’s Tyler Rayman edged out Edwardsburg’s Carter Goodson for overall conference medalist honors.

Heading into the league tournament, Rayman’s stroke average was 38.6, while Goodson’s was 39.0.

Rayman finished with an 18-hole total of 74 Thursday and Goodson shot 78. Both were first team all-conference.

Dowagiac senior David Brogan turned in a solid performance at the conference tournament as he finished seventh after shooting 81. Brogan earned honorable mention all-conference for the Chieftains.

Edwardsburg’s Dante Razzano also earned honorable mention all-conference. He finished just outside the top 12 Thursday after shooting 85.



At Hampshire Country Club


Tyler Rayman, Otsego – 74


Team scores

Otsego 313, Paw Paw 337, Plainwell 344, Sturgis 349, Edwardsburg 350, Dowagiac 351, Vicksburg 356, Three Rivers 356, South Haven 384, Allegan 388.


Finals standings

1. Otsego, 2. Plainwell, 3. Sturgis, 4. Edwardsburg, 5. Paw Paw, 6. Vicksburg, 7. Dowagiac, 8. Three Rivers, 8. Allegan, 10. South Haven.


Top 12

Tyler Rayman (O) 74, Casey Syrek (O) 77, Carter Goodson (E) 78, Nick Brausch (PP) 78, Ryan Brenneman (S) 79, Shawn Farrell (O) 80, David Brogan (D) 81, Chase Drobny (O) 82, Wyatt Baker (SH) 82, Jacob Gernaat (PL) 82, Adam Grabowski (V) 84, Bennett Cooper (PP).

Edwardsburg results

Carter Goodson 78, Dante Razzano 85, Bo Thomas 97, Adam Kozinski 92, Erik Stemer 95.


Dowagiac results

David Brogan 81, Justin Yakim 91, Zach Davis 88, Mitch Warsko 91, Josh Lamphere 100.