YES program continues to grow

Published 10:26 am Thursday, May 12, 2016

(Submitted photo)

(Submitted photo)

A new set of Dowagiac Union High School students were honored by another community business last week, as the school’s Youth Experiencing Success program reached yet another milestone in its three year history.

A total of 44 juniors at the school were recognized for earning all A’s and B’s during the third marking, which ran from Jan. 19 to March 25, last Thursday at the high school media center. Partnering with the school for the ceremony was C. Wimberley Automotive, with the company giving out coupons for free car washes to each of the students.

This event marked the first time that juniors were recognized as part of the program, though many of the students honored had been participants in previous YES ceremonies as freshmen and sophomores, said Doug Pearson, YES organizer and student advocate with the school.

“Their [the students’] academic excellence is opening doors for exciting opportunities in their future,” Pearson said. “They may not know what all lies ahead for them, but they are setting the ground work for a promising future by focusing on their academics.”

C. Wimberley is the sixth business to partner with the YES program, joining the local McDonald’s, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Saylor’s Pizza and Little Caesars.

“Wimberley Ford’s generous support is another indication of how much the community appreciates and supports the academic accomplishments of the students at Dowagiac Union High School,” Pearson said.

If any businesses would like to be involved in the YES Program they can contact Doug Pearson at

Honored were:

Theodore Bjork

Katlyn Briney

Matthew Briney

Kaley Brogan

Mackenzie Brooks

Adrien Bucha-Moore

Magali Carrillo

Alexis Chorba

Sylvanna Craft

Kayla Cromer

Magali Cruz

Lyudmila Dickson-French

Alexandra Dietze

Emily Dodd

Collin Dussel

Joshua Gonzalez

Hailee Green

Mariah Green

Joseph Hassle

McKenzie Hassle

Ethan Helmuth

Taylor Hulett

Austin Jones

Audrea King

Abby Klann

Kyra Kuriata

Danielle Lamb

Mary Leversen

Vivianna Lucio

Kyle Ortegel

William Revis

Kayland Shepard

Shawn Sirk Jr

Lauren Smith

Megan Soderbloom

Emmaline Sovine

Gabrielle St Cin

Kyle Thies

Isabel Thorne

Douglas VanTuyle

Hector Vazquez

Leighannn Walker

Hannah Whitaker

Marcus Winchester-Jones