World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series coming to Hartford July 29

Published 8:49 am Tuesday, May 3, 2016

HARTFORD — Tickets are now on sale for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series return to Hartford Speedway in Hartford, Friday, July 29.

Tickets may be purchased online at or by calling (815)344-2023.

Joey Saldana was victorious in the most recent World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series event at Hartford Speedway in 2011. The native of Brownsburg, Indiana is the only current full-time driver that has won with the series at the track. Saldana’s victory was an emotional one, as it was his first race back after suffering injuries earlier that season during the Kings Royal at Eldora Speedway.

The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series made their debut at Hartford Speedway with a pair of races in 1996 that were won by former series champions Dave Blaney and Sammy Swindell. Steve Kinser, the 20-time series champion and winningest driver in series history, won at Hartford Speedway in 2005. Jason Meyers, a two-time series titlist, also picked up a win at the half-mile in 2004. Brian Paulus won at the track in 2003. In the six races contested by the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series at Hartford Speedway, six different drivers have picked up win.

The 2016 season is well under way for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series, with Brad Sweet leading the standings over Shane Stewart. Sweet, who drives for Kasey Kahne Racing, has five wins thus far in 2016. Stewart has been a model of consistency, as he is tied with Sweet for having the most top-10 finishes. Daryn Pittman, the 2013 series champion, is currently third in points and has three wins. Donny Schatz, the seven-time and defending series champion is tied for the series lead with five wins for his Tony Stewart Racing team, and is fourth in the standings. Joey Saldana rounds out the current top-five in the standings.

Beginning on June 30, get $5 off when purchasing General Admission ticket(s) at participating O’Reilly Auto Parts Stores. Ticket buyers will exchange their O’Reilly receipt for a ticket at the Main Grandstand ticket booth on race day.