Edwardsburg dominates Division 2 All-District softball team

Published 10:00 pm Thursday, June 4, 2015

Dowagiac sophomore Taylor Hulett was named to the Division 2 All-District softball team. (Leader photo/File)

Dowagiac sophomore Taylor Hulett was named to the Division 2 All-District softball team. (Leader photo/File)

HulettDivision 2 district champion Edwardsburg dominated the all-district team, which was announced Wednesday.

The Eddies, who will host Vicksburg in the second game of the Division 2 regional Saturday, landed six players on the squad and had Randy Brooks named Coach of the Year.

All-district is the first step in earning Michigan High School Softball Coaches Association All-State honors. The all-region team will be selected following Saturday’s tournament.

The all-state team will be selected during the championship weekend at Michigan State University June 11-13.

Earning all-district for the Eddies were outfielder Kailee Claire, first baseman McKenzie Creed, second baseman Savannah Dixon, third baseman Kaylee Ryker, designated player Hannah Shoupe and At-Large player Layne Stinnett.

Claire is hitting .418 with nine doubles, seven triples, two home runs and 33 RBIs for the Eddies.

Creed is hitting .530 with 25 doubles, a triple, seven home runs and 69 RBIs, while Dixon is hitting .475 with 14 doubles, four triples, three home runs and 34 RBIs.

Ryker is hitting .318 with 12 doubles, two triples and 40 RBIs, while Shoupe is hitting .437 with 11 doubles, six triples, a home run and 39 RBIs.

Stinnett is hitting .482 with 18 doubles, three triples, five home runs and 52 RBIs.

District host Niles has shortstop Tegan Bays named to the squad and was given the sportsmanship award.

Bays hit .376 with five doubles, two triples and 15 RBIs.

Dowagiac, which lost to the Eddies in the championship game 13-1, had outfielder Riley Daly, pitcher Taylor Hulett and utility player Alyssa Allen named all-district.

Hulett was 12-7 with an ERA of 2.25 this season with 138 strikeouts and 127 innings. She hit .450 with 17 doubles, two triples, a home run and 34 RBIs.

Daley hit .339 with nine doubles, a triple, a home run and 37 RBIs, while Allen hit .333 with 17 doubles, a home run and 29 RBIs.

Paw Paw outfielder Sarah Wyman, catcher McKenzie Earl, pitcher Kayli Bowen and at-large player Melissa Bradley rounded out the team.




1. Sarah Wyman (PP)

2. Kailee Claire (E)

3. Riley Daly (D)



Tegan Bays (N)


First Base

McKenzie Creed (E)


Second Base

Savannah Dixon (E)


Third Base

Kaylee Ryker (E)



McKenzie Earl (PP)



1. Kayli Bowen (PP)

2. Taylor Hulett (D)



Alyssa Allen (D)


Designated Player

Hannah Shoupe (E)



1. Layne Stinnett (E)

2. Melissa Bradley (PP)





Coach of the Year

Randy Brooks