Conroy, Ruffer semifinalists for Groza

Published 2:15 pm Saturday, October 30, 2010

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. — Michigan State kicker Dan Conroy and Notre Dame’s David Ruffer are among the 20 semifinals for the 2010 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.

The award is presented by the Discover Orange Bowl.

While this year’s list of semifinalists includes seven kickers who earned the honor last season, including 2009 Lou Groza Award winner Kai Forbath of UCLA and finalist Blair Walsh of Georgia, perhaps the most impressive showing is by a newcomer.

Oklahoma State senior Dan Bailey is perfect on all 56 of his attempts this season.

Heading into today’s games, Bailey’s 15 field goals place him just behind fellow semifinalists Danny Hrapmann of Southern Miss and Aaron Jones of Baylor, each with 16. Bailey is also 41-of-41 on extra points this season. The only kicker with more successful PATs is repeat semifinalist Joe Phillips of Utah. The senior has connected on 43 of his 44 attempts, while going 9-for-9 on field goals.

In addition to Forbath, Phillips and Walsh, those earning semifinalist honors for the second consecutive season are Fresno State junior Kevin Goessling, Nebraska senior Alex Henery, Missouri junior Grant Ressel, and Duke junior Will Snyderwine.

Semifinalists will be voted on by all Division 1 head coaches and sports information directors, along with national, regional and local football writers and others who will select the three (3) finalists.

These finalists will be honored at the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on Dec. 7 in West Palm Beach.  The winner will be announced live on the nationally televised Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on the evening of Dec. 9.

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. The 1,608 career points he scored is still a Browns’ franchise record, and he ranks third all-time in league.

Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.

Past Groza finalists include current NFL kickers, Nate Kaeding, Sebastian Janikowski, Mike Nugent, Jason Elam, Mason Crosby and Graham Gano.

Lou Groza semifinalists

Dan Bailey – Oklahoma State

Devin Barclay – Ohio State

Kyle Brotzman – Boise State

Dan Conroy – Michigan State

Derek Dimke – Illinois

Kai Forbath – UCLA

Kevin Goessling – Fresno State

Chris Hazley – Virginia Tech

Alex Henery – Nebraska

Dustin Hopkins – Florida State

Danny Hrapmann – Southern Miss

Josh Jasper – LSU

Aaron Jones – Baylor

Joe Phillips – Utah

Grant Ressel – Missouri

David Ruffer – Notre Dame

Will Snyderwine – Duke

Collin Wagner – Penn State

Blair Walsh – Georgia

Nate Whitaker – Stanford