Graham, Minor named to Maxwell watch list

Published 8:41 am Monday, August 17, 2009

SOUTHAMPTON, Pa. – University of Michigan senior football players Brandon Graham (Detroit/Crockett Technical HS) and Brandon Minor (Richmond, Va./Varina HS) have been named to the watch list for national awards sponsored by the Maxwell Football Club. Graham is a candidate for the Chuck Bednarik Award and Minor has been named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award.

Graham is one of 55 players on the watch list for the 15th annual Bednarik Award, presented to the nation’s outstanding defensive player. He is one of seven Big Ten Conference players named to the list.

Minor is on the watch list for 73rd annual Maxwell Award, given annually to the outstanding player in college football. Minor and Wisconsin’s John Clay are the only league running backs on the watch list.

Minor is one of only seven conference offensive performers up for the award.

The semifinalists for the awards will be announced Nov. 4, and three finalists will be named Nov. 23. The winner of both the Bednarik and Maxwell awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10, 2009.

The formal presentation of the awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala on March 5, 2010.