Vikings end Lancers’ streak

Published 6:00 am Monday, January 8, 2007

By By ERIKA PICKLES / Niles Daily Star
NILES – The Lakeshore wrestling team knew it would have its hands full at Saturday's Berrien County Invitational.
The Lancers have dominated the tournament since its debut in 1979, winning 22 of the 28 total Invites and claiming the past 10 in a row. But with a loss to Niles last week, Lakeshore knew it was going to be a long day and indeed it was.
The Vikings showed no mercy whatsoever and posted a team score of 241 points to win the nvitational title, way ahead of Lakeshore, who finished with 204.5 points.
St. Joseph finished third with 178 points, Buchanan fourth with 167.5, Coloma placed fifth with 102 points and Brandywine was sixth with 78.5 points.
The Vikings placed nine wrestlers in the finals and came away with four individual champions.
Jake Glueckert defeated Buchanan's Nick Wheetley, 6-4, to claim the 125-pound title. Ben Brandstatter posted a 13-6 win over St. Joe's Dustin Phelan at 160-pounds. Alex Zanders won the 170-pound title by defeating Lake Michigan Catholic's Mike Bartels, 4-3 and Kenyon Ellison pinned St. Joe's Andy Rosenthal at the 1:27 mark to win the 275-pound match.
Runners-up for Niles were Bryce Flannery (130), Nate Heiermann (140), Todd Scansen (145), Micah Barrett (189) and Chad Nichols (215).
Todd Taylor and Austin Ferris both won championship rounds for the Bucks. Taylor, the meet's only repeat champion, defeated John Stein of River Valley, 6-4 in the 119-pound match. Ferris took the 152-pound title with a 3-1 win over Tim Newman of Lakeshore.
Niles and Lakeshore will go head-to-head again on Thursday when the two powers meet for a SMAC West Division Dual at Lakeshore.
Team scores: Niles 241, Lakeshore 204.5, St. Joseph 178, Buchanan 167.5, Coloma 102, Brandywine 78.5, River Valley 65, Berrien Springs 64.5, Lake Michigan Catholic/Countryside 53, Eau Claire 45.5, Benton Harbor 14, Watervliet 14.
103 – John Tanner (Col) d. Dustin McMullin (RV) 9-2
112 – Jeff Schoembach (Lake) d. Luke Faultersack (Col) 7-3
119 – Todd Taylor (Bu) d. John Stein (RV) 6-4
125 – Jake Glueckert (N) d. Nick Wheetley (Bu) 6-4
130 – Huston Harrison (Col) d.Bryce Flannery (N) 9-2
135 – Irwin Rockette (LMC/CS) p. Alex Bolt (Lake) 1:20
140 – Jake Shivers (LMC) d. Nate Heiermann (N) injury default.
145 – Kyle Froehlich (BS) d. Todd Scansen (N) 9-5
152 – Austin Ferris (Bu) d. Tim Newman (Lake) 3-1
160 – Ben Brandstatter (N) d. Dustin Phelan (SJ) 13-6
171 – Alex Zanders (N) d. Mike Bartels (LMC?CS) 4-3
189 – Mark Lockwood (SJ) d. Micah Barrett (N) 5-4, 2OT
217 – Joe Spear (Lake) d. Chad Nichols (N) 9-7
275 – Kenyon Ellison (N) p. Andy Rosenthal (SJ) 1:27