Mr. Wrestler and Coach of the Year announced

Published 2:46 am Saturday, March 25, 2006

By Staff
The Michigan Wrestling Association (MWA) would like to recognize Jon Reader, a senior at Davison High School for earning the 2006 “Mr. Michigan Wrestler” award.
Reader joins former teammates Brent Metcalf (current Virginia Tech. student-athlete) and Paul Donahoe (current University of Nebraska student-athlete) by earning the 2006 "Mr. Michigan Wrestler" award.
Reader, who carries a 3.56 GPA, had a brilliant senior season going 60-0. He pinned 55 opponents, 53 of them consecutively. He ended his career 231-6. Reader is currently ranked No. 1 in the country by Amateur Wrestling News. He will continue his education at Iowa State University, wrestling for the legendary Bobby Douglas and Cael Sanderson. Reader ends his high school career as a 3 time Division 1 State Champion, placing 3rd as a freshman. His resume also includes 4 "Big 9" titles, 4 District titles, 4 Regional titles, and 4 Genesee County titles. He won the prestigious Medina Ohio Tourney 3 times. Reader led his team to 4 Team State titles.
Nationally, he has won the Cadet FILA Freestyle and Greco titles twice. He also received Outstanding Wrestler honors. Jon was a 2 time Cadet Freestyle runner-up. Finally, he became a double Junior All-American in 2005 by placing third in both styles.
Michigan Wrestling Association
Coach of Year Winners:
Division 1
Head Coach – Todd Cheney, Hartland High School
Assistant Coach – Cory Kuzinski, Lake Orion High School
Division 2
Head Coach – Brian Martell, Mason High School
Assistant Coach – Chris McDevitt, Oxford High School
Division 3
Head Coach – Dave Robertson, Corunna High School
Assistant Coach – Jerry Curby – Hillsdale High School
Division 4
Head Coach – Rick Sherry, Addison High School
Assistant Coach – Jeremy Sampson, Sanford-Meridian High School