After 15 years, Buchanan claims district championship

Published 8:21 pm Thursday, February 16, 2006

By By SCOTT NOVAK Niles Daily Star
BUCHANAN - The long wait is finally over.
After 15 years, the Buchanan varsity wrestling team raised a district championship trophy over its heads Wednesday night in front of a boisterous home crowd.
The Bucks (27-5) left no doubts as they destroyed Berrien Springs in the semifinals, 66-3, and thumped Dowagiac in the championship match, 56-11.
Veteran Buchanan coach Frank Mucha said that the victory was a sweet one for his squad, which last won a district championship in 1991.
The Bucks could have easily been hoisting their second straight championship trophy on Wednesday, however, Dowagiac edged the Bucks in the title match last year by just two points, 34-32.
It was over quickly for the Chieftains, who finish the season with a 27-15 overall record.
Dowagiac came from behind to defeat Edwardsburg in the other semifinal match, 38-25.
In the finals, Buchanan rolled to a 30-point lead by winning the first six matches.
While the scoreboard read 25-0, the Chieftains actually had a score of minus one after a team point was deducted for unsportsmanlike conduct following the 145-pound match.
The Bucks, who will compete in the regional tournament next Wednesday, opened the finals with a 21 second pin by Travis Reith of John Morseau, Tyler Mitchell then pinned Nate Long in 4:50 to make it a 12-0 match.
The Bucks extended the lead to 15-0 when Bryant Miller, who was replacing the injured Drew Medlin in the Buchanan line up, edged Zach Roden at 140-pounds, 7-6.
The lead reached 21-0 following David Medlin's pin of Terry Prowoznik at the 5:31 mark of the 145-pound bout.
The Bucks upped their lead to 25-0 when Auston Ferris won by major decision (16-8) over Deshaun Baylock.
The lead reached 29-0 when A.J. Long blanked Andrew Hurrle at 160-pounds, 9-0.
The Chieftains averted the shutout at 171-pounds when senior Elijah Caldwell decisioned Ryan Harrington, 13-8.
Jim Connors followed with a 3-2 victory over Kyle Bailey at 189-pounds.
The Chieftains then picked up the second of their three victories as sophomore Drew Staley blanked Justin Brown at 215-pounds, 6-0.
Dowagiac made it back-to-back victories when senior Tony Stewart pinned Phil Metz in 2:39.
The Bucks ran the table after that.
David Knisely pinned Andrew Ostrowski in 1:33 at 103-pounds, while Todd and Tony Taylor scored consecutive pins of Nathan Cottrell and Jacob Weldy. Todd Taylor only needed 2:26 of his 112-pound bout, while Tony Taylor only needed 3:28.
With the match long since decided, Dowagiac coach John Green decided to forfeit to Buchanan's Nick Wheetly at 125-pounds.
Green added that Buchanan is a solid wrestling team that could very well win the regional next week and advance to Battle Creek.
The Bucks will now travel to Otsego for the team regional next Wednesday where they will face the winner of the Vermontville-Maple Valley district.
Also competing will be the winners from the South Haven and Delton Kellogg district.
The regional champion will then advance to the Division 3 quarterfinals to be held at the Kellogg Arena in Battle Creek on March 3.
South Haven is the defending regional champion.
MHSAA Division 3
District Wrestling
Championship match
103: David Knisely (B) p. Andrew Ostrowski, 1:33
112: Todd Taylor (B) p. Nathan Cottrell, 2:26
119: Tony Taylor (B) p. Jacob Weldy, 3:25
125: Nick Wheetly (B) won by forfeit
130: Travis Reith (B) p. John Morseau, :21
135: Tyler Mitchell (B) p. Nate Long, 4:50
140: Bryant Miller (B) d. Zach Roden, 7-6
145: David Medlin (B) p. Terry Prowoznik, 5:31
152: Auston Ferris (B) d. Deshaun Baylock, 16-8
160: A.J. Long d. Andrew Hurrle, 9-0
171: Elijah Caldwell (D) p. Ryan Harrington, 13-8
189: Jim Connors (B) d. Kyle Bailey, 3-2
215: Drew Staley (D) d Justin Brown, 6-0
275: Tony Stewart (D) p. Phil Metz, 2:39
103: Andrew Ostrowski (D) p. Josh Klozinski, 1:51
112: Nathan Cottrell (D) p. Richard Krassow, 1:34
119: Jacob Weldy (D) p. Jason Karamon, 1:31
125: Tyler Kendle (E) d, Justin Richter, 7-2
130: Alex Steinke (E) p. John Merseau, :40
135: Nate Long (D) d. Ryan Ackles, 7-0
140: Matt Peters (E) d. Zach Roden, 10-2
145: Alex Hall (E) d. Terry Prowoznik, 8-7
152: Deshaun Baylock (D) p. Tyler Schmitt, 5:34
160: Anthony Young (E) d. Andrew Hurrle, 9-3
171: Elijah Caldwell (D) p. Joe White, 3:59
189: Jim Fein (E) d. Drew Staley, 10-9
215: Chris Ake (E) d. Robert Westcott, 5-2
275: Tony Stewart (D) p. Steve Franklin, 1:45
Berrien Springsa3
103: David Knisely (B) p. Seth Williams, :12
112: Todd Taylor (B) p. Jorge Camara, :23
119: Tony Taylor (B) d. Cody Davis, 4-2
125: Nick Wheetly (B) won by forfeit
130: Travis Reith (B) won by forfeit
135: Tyler Mitchell (B) won by forfeit
140: Bryant Miller (B) t.f. Aaron Westfall, 15-0
145: David Medlin (B) d. Kyle Froehlich, 2-0
152: Auston Ferris (B) won by forfeit
160: A.J. Long d. Mike Floyd, 9-7
171: Ryan Harrington p. David McNally, 1:16
189: Jim Connors (B) d. Jordon Parsons, 11-0
215: Justin Brown, (B) p. Lucas Costanza, :31
275: Jason Rafter (BS) d. Phil Metz, 8-6