Niles/Brandywine school board members recognized for their service

Published 4:16 pm Saturday, January 21, 2006

By Staff
The month of January marks the annual observance of School Board Recognition Month - a time to salute the work of school board members and celebrate public education.
The theme of this year's celebration, “School Boards Make Stars Out of Students,” reflects the combined commitment to leadership and accountability assuring that ALL children succeed.
School board members must develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community.
They bear responsibility for an annual budget of millions of dollars, thousands of students, hundreds of employees and many school buildings. They carry out the truest form of representative government in our democracy - volunteer public service and preserve the core of our democratic land - public education.
You are invited by Douglas Law, superintendent of Niles Community Schools and Gary Rider, superintendent of Brandywine Community Schools, to recognize and celebrate the work of your school trustees. Invite them out for coffee. Ask how you might help support our local neighborhood schools. Write your school board members a thank you note. Let them know you appreciate what they do for the kids in your district.
Serving Niles Community Schools are Mary Crayton, Dana Daniels, Michael Dreher, Jerry French, John Mattix Jr., Elaine Miller and Scott Tyler.
Brandywine Community Schools board members include: Cindy Benson, Phil Bozung, Dennis Cooper, Jim Curran, Dennis Hinsey, Mike Shelton and Rick Zache.