Time zone decision goes east

Published 3:48 pm Thursday, January 19, 2006

By Staff
WASHINGTON, DC-- Congressman Fred Upton (R-St. Joseph) applauded today's ruling by the United States Department of Transportation to include the Indiana Counties of St. Joseph and Elkhart in the Eastern Time zone.
Upton had urged U.S. Secretary of Transportation Norman Mineta last November to include St. Joseph and Elkhart in the Eastern zone. Upton most recently made the case to DOT officials last week while attending the annual Detroit auto show. This issue is of profound interest to the approximately 250,000 residents of Southwest Michigan who live in the three counties that border Indiana.
The Department of Transportation ruled that the Indiana Counties of St. Joseph, Elkhart, Marshall, Fulton, Benton, White, Carroll, Cass, Vermillion, Sullivan, and Lawrence Counties will remain in the Eastern zone.
The counties of Starke, Pulaski, Knox, Daviess, Martin, Pike, Dubois, and Perry will move from the Eastern to Central time zone beginning April 2, 2006, when the nation switches to daylight saving time.