Niles fans sing as Vikings give Lakeshore West Division setback

Published 2:57 pm Friday, January 13, 2006

By By ERIKA PICKLES / Niles Daily Star
NILES - In front of a packed Niles gym Thursday evening, the Vikings varsity wrestling team gave Lakeshore what the Lancers have given them for so many years - a loss!
Niles took the 34-23 Big 16 West Division win, which was the first victory over Lakeshore in what some say has been over 30 years.
Niles exploded in its early matches, taking a 19-0 lead before Lakeshore was able to get points on the board.
Chad Nichols got things rolling in the 275-pound class for Niles, as he pinned Josh Noffke at the 3:32 mark.
The Vikings went on to win the next three matches.
Nate Allison took the 6-4 win at 103 against Nick Forrester. Jake Glueckert grabbed an 11-0 win at 112 gainst Mike Davis and Bryce Flannery pinned Jason Howland at 119.
Andrew Kartsen (125) and Nate Heiermann (130) both suffered losses for the Vikes, but Mason Stephenson fired the crowd back up with his 4-3 win over Tim Newman at 135 pounds.
The win was especially crucial for Stephenson, as he was the center of some jokes recently by Lakeshore fans.
Todd Scansen (140), Ben Brandstatter (160) and Alex Zanders were the last three Vikes to win their matches.
Brandstatter's pin against Zach Kretchman at 160-pounds was a key victory for Niles, as it kept the Vikes out of reach.
Lakeshores only pin came at 189, when Wittman pinned Aaron Johnson.
Lakeshore's head coach Bruce Bittenbender said he knew it was going to be a tough match, especially since it was at Niles.
Bittenbender also said his team has been having problems the past week due to two players who were absent for a team violation.
Jackson defeated Scansen, 6-4, on Saturday in the championship round.
Lakeshore is now 15-3 on the season.
Niles, now 19-3, will host Benton Harbor on Monday for another Big 16 match.
103: Nate Allison (N) d. Nick Forrester 6-4
112: Jake Glueckert (N) d. Mike Davis 11-0
119: Bryce Flannery (N) p. Jason Howland 4:32
125: Kyle Hammermeister (L) d. Andrew Karsten 4-2
130: Alex Bolt (L) d. Nate Heiermann 6-0
135: Mason Stephenson (N) d. Tim Newman 4-3
140: Todd Scansen (N) d. Jacob Skivers 5-3
145: Eric Shirley (L) d. John Wreggelsworth 12-11
152: Brad LeValley (L) d. Derek Purcell 16-1
160: Ben Brandstatter (N) p. Zach Kretchman 2:27
171: Ryan Middleton (L) d. Jake Groves (N) 3-2 2 OT
189: Matt Wittmann (L) p. Aaron Johnson 2:21
215: Alex Zanders (N) d. Greg Wharton 5-3
275: Chad Nichols (N) p. Josh Noffke 3:32