Doug True among those to be honored at banquet

Published 1:31 pm Thursday, January 5, 2006

By Staff
LEXINGTON - The 2005 ASA Late Model Series Awards Banquet Presented by GM Performance Parts, Hoosier Racing Tires, Torco Racing Fuel and the Choice Hotels Chain is right around the corner.
Set for Saturday, Jan. 14, the celebration will be held in Fort Wayne, Ind. at the Quality Hotel and Banquet Center.
The Awards Presentations will begin promptly at 6:30 p.m. with dinner, dancing, and celebrating all to follow the awards ceremonies.
The Awards Ceremony will honor the 2005 ASA Late Model Series Champion Stephen Leicht of Wal-Tom Racing for an outstanding season. The 2005 Pat Bourdow Rookie of the year will be awarded to Brian Campbell of Automotive Promotions Inc. Finally, Mark Hartline, through sheer determination and tenacity, will be awarded the GM Performance Parts Shootout Points Champion Award.
The 2005 Awards Banquet will also award the top 20 teams in season long final points standings for the 2005 season. In addition, the GM Performance Parts Sponsored Winner's Circle Programs will award team owners based on attendance and participation throughout the 2005 season. The teams that will be awarded for this program had either a 100-, 80- or 50-percent attendance for the season.
Those team owners are: Wal-Tom Racing, Automotive Promotions Inc., Wood Brothers Racing, Hock Motorsports, Kar Korner Motorsports, Cassill Racing, Urbine Racing Inc., Jason Dietsh Racing, T.D Racing, Cozzolino Motorsports, Downey Racing, Keeton Hanks Racing, Wieland Racing, True Racing of Dowagiac, SS Racing, Jesse Smith Racing, Tomlinson Racing, Bay Motorsports, David Stremme Racing, Tony Rosebrugh Racing, Tyler Motorsports, Diversified Motorsports, Larry Chard Motorsports, Marathon Manufacturing and Supply Racing, Hartline Racing Enterprises, RV Performance Motorsports, Mahlik Motorsports, Granneman Racing, Troy Barnes Racing, Eagle Motorsports, C-C Motorsports, and Baker Racing.
True finished 14th in the final standings, just one point out of 13th and only 103 points out of 10th.
There will also be a number of special awards to recognize some of the greatest assets we have in our series; Track Owner of the Year, Promoter of the year, Sponsor of the Year, Official of the Year, Crew Chief of the Year and some very special Team awards.
The ASALMS Director of Media/Public Relations and P.A. Announcer, Matt Prieur will be the Master of Ceremonies (MC) for the Awards Ceremony and also a special thanks goes out to the Hemsworth Brothers and Company Band which will be playing oldies hits and requests throughout the evening after the awards and dinner portion of the awards banquet.
The ASA Late Model Series will award over $70,000 in Cash and Awards.